Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
These were really good. I threw my other recipe out. My husband has to watch his fat intake real close, so I halved the oil and used egg beaters. I also used cinnamon in the muffins as well as plumped up raisins and sprinkled sugar and cinnamon mixture on top. My other recipe called for all oat bran. I think some flour helps with the texture as well as taste. I use bread flour, it contains more gluten than regular flour, so it gives a better rise. I'll be making these all the time now. Thanks for the recipe Bron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
This is a moist, flavourful muffin. To jazz it up a little, i added 1 cup of fresh strawberries and 2tbsp of sliced almonds...makes it very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
This is a great recipe. With the applesauce added, it's not necessary to use as much oil as indicated. I only used 1 tablespoon of oil, and they turned out great. Also, I couldn't find oat bran, so I used Kellogg's All-Bran cereal (which is wheat bran) instead, which worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Really good, but a little dry. The second try, I made them with homemade applesauce; it really picked up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is a great recipe. I added raisins and used Eggbeaters to reduce the cholestrol content. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
These muffins were tasty, but I change a few things to get them the way I wanted. I increased this recipe by 50% but still made 12 muffins: just regular sized. I also used 1/4 tsp. cinammon to the mix, as well as only 1/3 the oil and 1 cup low fat vanilla yogurt with 1/4 cup applesauce for the liquid. This made them very moist. Finally, I added the raisins and also the cinammon sugar as the author suggested, and they were delicious. I might addd a little more brown sugar than the recipe calls for. They were not very time consuming and baked quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
These muffins are delicious! I followed Caroline's advice and also added 2 tb of ground flax seed. These are wonderful with a dab of honey!! April
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This recipe is wonderful and I normally hate bran muffins. I did make a few changes though to suit my tastes. I used oat flour instead of white flour; maple syrup instead of brown sugar; half the oil (olive); 3/4 cup applesauce; added 1/2C raisins and walnuts; and added 1TBSP of cinnamon. My sister loved them and has already had three!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I was looking for a match for my favourite coffee-shop oatbran apple muffins... These weren't it. I added cinnamon and diced apples to this recipe, then sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top before baking, but I found these weren't moist enough and weren't very flavourful, even with the addition of cinnamon. I might try these again, but I'll tweak the recipe a bit more to get them the way I want them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I liked the muffins. I added a cup of graded carrots, a cup of walnuts and a handful of crystallized ginger. They are not the sweetest muffins, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States