Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These turned out so satisfyingly muffin-like, I was happy. They look nice, have a great muffin texture, and taste good. I followed the recipe except instead of 2 eggs, I used Ener-G egg replacer (2 teaspoons dissolved in 4 tablespoons warm water) because I don't eat eggs. Oh, and I used wheat bran instead of oat bran and added some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
These are SO GOOD. I followed the advice of others and subbed in some yogurt for the applesauce (about 3/4c apple sauce and I just used a 6oz personal sized plain yogurt.) I also added plumped cranberries in this instead of the suggested alteration of raisins. I love the pockets of sweet/tart. These are AMAZING. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made several alterations to this recipe, but it makes a great base recipe that you can do so much with! I used Splenda in place of the sugar. I used wheat bran instead of oat bran and I used ground oats in place of the flour, and finally, I used mashed bananas in place of the applesauce. I also added a tsp of pumpkin pie spice. They turned out delicious, and only 110 calories each! (before the honey butter, lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
LOVED it. My changes: Since I didn't have applesauce on hand I grated a whole apple into it. I also substituted the all-purpose flour for whole wheat. And to top it off, I also took the advice to sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top. very tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These were the bomb!!! Very moist and delicious. I added choc chips to mine and the kids and craisins to my husband's. Very Good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I added ground flax seed, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and a crumb topping (2 tbsp butter, 1/2 c oats, 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/4 c flour, 1/4 c chopped walnuts) and these were delicious! I do think next time I will use more applesauce as other reviewers have suggested, as they were just a little bit dry. And I think these would be yummy with chopped dates... will be giving that a try! Great healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Moist and filling, but a bit bland by themselves. BUT that mens they are a great base for anything you might want to add. I have added diced pear, pecans, and chocolate chips to different batches. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Used cinnamon applesauce and vanilla yogurt and only one egg. Good muffins and nice source of fiber. Could use a little more flavor, maybe by adding more spices or some dried fruits and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
If you substitute any whole wheat flour in the mix you may have to add more liquid. You can use a little milk, cream or orange juice. They look really pretty if you top with a few rolled oats and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I added raisins, walnuts, cinnamon, and vanilla. The batter seemed too thick so I added 4 more ounces of applesauce. I didn't have oat bran on hand but I did have wheat bran so I used that. I baked mine about 20 minutes. Turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States