Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These were really good muffins. I made some changes to the recipe. I used 1/2 tsp of salt rather than a whole since I am watching the sodium. Used 4 egg whites and a banana. Also used a cup of applesauce-- no oil. Used the 1/2 cup of light brown sugar but threw in some dark chocolate chips in one half of batter and extra golden raisins in the other. I prefer the raisins since it gives it a sweeter taste. Add cinnamon and a bit of pure vanilla and your muffins will be great! This will be great with pumpkin pie spice and pumpkin next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Best bran muffin recipe I've made! I followed the recipe, except I added some ground ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg to the flour mixture and added half an orange's worth of grated orange zest to the egg mixture. The orange zest is a must! The result is not an orange-bran muffin, but just a more complex muffin with some awesome flavor you can't quite figure out. I'm keeping this one forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
If you like coconut, using a quality coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil is a way to add a little more nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by n.schaeffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
changed flour to 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 cup reg. flour, added 2 kitchen tsp of wheat germ and then same of milled flax seed meal. to moist ingredients adjusted to 1 1/2 cups applesauce with no oil and 1 tsp vanilla--2 tsp cinnamon to dry ingredients. otherwise same. smells wonderful-- in the oven right now. love this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbreadmachine
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Perfect healthy muffins with so much room to change up according to my preference. I used 1/4c brown sugar and 2 T amber agave, whole wheat flour, 1 egg, 1 1/4 c applesauce, 2T flax, 2T canola oil, and 2T almond milk...cooked at 385 for exactly 15 minutes and they turned out very moist and not overly sweet...thanks for posting a recipe that is healthy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome of these muffins. This was the first time I've baked with applesauce, I've always been skeptical, but not anymore. I followed advice of others and used whole wheat flour and cut back on the oil. I added blueberries and raspberries. Definitely a feel good muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Would make this whenever I need a muffin. Did a few changes 1 1/4 all brand cereal, + 1/4 c. flex seed 1 c. flour & 1/2 c whole wheat flour, 1/2 t. vanilla and a few nuts. They were a little thick so just added a little more applesauce. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I replaced the applesauce with 1 c whole blueberries & mixed them until the batter was purple. Added dark choc chips. It's the perfect bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were very good muffins. I made some modifications: I didn't have oat bran so I used oatmeal (which turned out well); I used whole wheat flour as others have mentioned they used; I used 3 tbsp. of coconut oil and instead of 1 cup of applesauce I used 1 1/2 apple/pear sauce. I also added cinnamon and vanilla. Finally I only used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup splenda. Also I though 400 degrees was too hot so I cooked the muffins for 15 minutes at 375 which was plenty of time. I could have cooked for 12 or 13 minutes and that would have probably been sufficient. These muffins are going to be my healthy snacking/breakfast muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girleypearl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
These muffins are delicious. In addition to the recipe I added 1/2 t. of cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added one chopped banana and a handful of walnuts. Another viewers suggestion of brushing honey over the tops while still warm, completed them. The family loves them. We will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States