Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
These are great to make wheat free! Just use rice or spelt flour (or even coconut flour) in place of regular flour. I use less brown sugar and add about 2 TB honey. I also add ground flax seeds, cinnamon and top with wheat free granola! YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Great recipe. I used coarse oat bran(Hodgson Mill bran) and on another occasion, I used a finer oat bran. The coarser oat bran worked better for my taste.My kids love taking them to school for a healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar-n-Spice
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great recipe! For a "Carrot Cake" version, you can make this with the optional raisnins and cinnamon PLUS 1 c. shredded carrot and 1/2 c. chopped walnuts. Makes 10 large muffins. Bake ~17 min. Spread with cream cheese - yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These were fantastic! Delicately sweet, moist and filling. I added shredded carrot, chopped dried apples and dried cranberries, froze a batch, and they make the perfect breakfast on the way to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
These are AWESOME! Great texture and I love that they aren't too sweet. They are now my breakfast of choice and I know they are helping reduce my cholesterol. If you are into the environment, don't preheat your oven until the muffins are resting in the tins. BTW, I have used as much as 3/4 cup whole wheat flour along with 3/4 AP flour for extra fiber, and the muffins are still tall and fluffy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Yum! I tweaked to be a cholesterol lowering recipe--egg whites instead of whole eggs, omitted the oil & added 1/2 cup more applesauce, a few Tbsp of fat free greek yogurt and 1 over ripe banana for moistness. Also added walnuts & 2 Tbsp flax seed as both are good for cholesterol + raisins & put dark chocolate chips in some for my boys. Lastly, used whole wheat flour--a combination of other reviews & a few of my own tweaks. Great base recipe!! My whole family loves these truly healthy muffins---thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
It bothers me when people rate without first trying as is but here I go. I loved the basic idea of this and how flexible it is. As others stated, 1tsp. ea. of the b. powder and b. soda worked just fine. I only had wheat bran to work with, but it can be a bit strong in flavor, I added 1/4 c. oldfashioned peanut butter as well as 1/2 c. more applesauce and 2 T. ground flax seed and only 1 T. oil. Also I used all WW flour, hence the extra applesauce. They were great and a big hit with my clients. Thank you for sharing and again my appologies for not trying as is Reply for CHTHONIC who said her muffins were bitter-check for freshness of bran and oil. Bran is very perishable and if old will be rancid.Also WW flour if you used it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I read other's comments carefully and followed suggestions for increasing moisture, decreasing sweetener,salt, and oil. And I used Whole Wheat flour as many did. For sweetener I used 2T xyletol, 2T brown sugar=1/4c total=half of what the recipe says. I left out the salt completely and found it was not missed. With the baking soda and powder it tastes plenty salty. I did not want to cut the leavening given the heaviness of the oat tbran. For eggs, I used double the amt of egg whites instead as I didn't have whole eggs--healthier too. I used the listed amt of applesauce. Many people added 1/2c more applesauce and cut the oil in half. I did not have more applesauce so used plain lowfat kefir (like yogurt) instead-1/2 c. I did not use ANY Oil at all in the recipe. For flavor I used pumpkin pie spice 1t and 1/2t vanilla. Next time I will add walnuts-was out. I followed the suggestion of another poster of combining applesauce with oat bran and let it sit to soften bran, mixing remaining dry and wet ingredients separately, adding wet to oat bran and adding the dry flour mix last. My muffins were lofty, not dense...I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I don't know what I did wrong, this tasted bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Five stars with changes~ We have made these as written, but over time, we have adjusted the recipe to now HALVE the sugar, oil, and leavening (baking powder, soda and salt), and find it more than sufficient. We add 50% more applesauce to replace the missing oil. They rise beautifully, are plenty sweet and salty, and are very versatile for add-ins. We also add spices-- 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States