Oat Bran Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I ignored the directions and made this start to finish in my breadmachine.(on whole wheat setting) Although I added 1 1/2 tsp vital gluten, it did not rise much. The top looks rough and the bread is very dense. It does need more salt and it doesn't have much flavor. I hope that it will make yummy toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
healthy and moist. does not hold up well for making sandwiches but delicious eaten plain with maybe a little cheese on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbreadmachine
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This would make a good english muffin bread. It raised very little and think that gluten would have have helped it to raise rather than stay dense. Also felt it needed more salt. But it was still good toasted with a little butter and jam or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Very yummy! I used wheat bran instead of oat bran and unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and it came out great. Also used all whole wheat pastry flour instead of whole wheat and all-purpose and ground flaxseed (not sure if that is any different from flax seed meal). It is a somewhat dense bread, but it melts in your mouth; it's not dry at all. I had it with soup the night I made it, and then the next morning I had it again as toast. Delicious! I will be making this one again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This was very good. I followed the ingredients exactly and it came out very good-very soft in the inside. The outside is alittle "hard" but not too bad. This bread tasted great with honey alone or with a chicken sandwich. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Way too dry as is. Needed more gluten and about 3/4 cup more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
excellent! I added 2 tsps vital wheat gluten, and used the bread machine for the dough cycle and made rolls from the dough (let rise 45 minutes), absolutely amazing served with Honey! thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This bread is really good. I like the high fiber content. My only changes were: reduced white bread flour to 1 cup and added an extra 1/3 cup wheat flour. I also added about 1 1/2 tsp of vital gluten. The bread not only tastes great, it looks great, too! Thanks for a great, high fiber recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Great taste! My bread machine doesn't work well, so I mixed the dough in my kitchen-aid mixer instead. It is very hearty and dense...and I may try to add a bit more sugar, and some gluten next time so it will rise a little higher...to use for sandwiches. This would also be terrific as mini-loaves baked free form (similar to what some of the steakhouse's serve). Tasted great toasted with honey, too. Thanks for sharing a really good and healthy bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States