Oat Bran Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Out of all the breads I've made, I think this is my favorite. I think this is definitely a bread that I'll make often. The main reason I made it is because I wanted to get rid of the oat bran that I had. I looked for a recipe and found this one. After tasting it, now I'm going to have to buy more oat bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
After trying more than a dozen recipe and regretting why i bought this machine, i finally liked home made bread. even though i followed the recipe top to bottom, dough looked watery,so added more than 1/4th cup of wwflour,did the rise setting first followed by basic setting and baked on light colored crust. I used bread machine yeast. ThankYou......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Super. This was the best texture of bread I've made in the bread machine. I find that sometimes they come out a bit wet in the middle but this was perfect and rose nice and high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Day 3 after making and this loaf and (what is left of it) is still fresh and moist. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I wanted to give this recipe 5 stars because the taste was outstanding, but I'm only giving it 4 because I don't think the recipe calls for enough flour. The first time I made this, the dough was so sticky I had to add at least an extra 1/2 cup of flour just to be able to shape it into a loaf. The 2nd time I made this, I increased the flour to 3 cups and increased the yeast to 2 1/4 teaspoons (equal to one package). After increasing the flour/yeast, this bread was PERFECT!!! It rose really high - it's very light and fluffy! You cannot tell there's oat bran in this, love it! Also, I love that this recipe calls for honey instead of sugar... I will be making this recipe again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Jex
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This bread is incredible! My entire family loved it, including my very picky 3-year-old. The texture is awesome. I added 1.5 TBS vital wheat gluten to the original recipe to preserve the life of the bread, only because we do not get through a loaf of bread very fast. In addition, I don't own a bread machine so I mixed and kneaded mine in my KA stand mixer with no problems. I proofed the yeast in the water and honey for 10 minutes, then added remaining ingredients and kneaded for about 6 minutes. I let it rise in a lightly oiled bowl covered with a damp cloth until doubled. I punched it down, shaped into a loaf, and let it rise in the loaf pan again until doubled as stated in the directions. Absolutely perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Delicious! I used all purpose flour and oat flour instead, with a good result. You can also substitute 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for 1/2 cup of white flour and keep the lovely texture while adding a few more whole grains. I baked mine in a Cuisinart bread machine, using the 1 lb loaf, medium bake, white bread setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
O.M.Gosh! This is sooo good and so easy in the bread machine. I didn't change a thing as this is my first time making it. It is a beautiful loaf of bread and tastes great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I've been making bread in a machine for 12 years, and this is the best recipe I have tried so far. The only change I made was adding flaxseed meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States