Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Yummy and dense and very filling! will make again - we love these for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Had to use quick oats as the only other ones I had were steelcut. Also made my applesauce from scratch so added some cinnamon plus threw in a pinch of salt. Next time will not use paper liners either as they really stuck due to lack of fat I guess. Definitely not a CAKE type muffin with streusel on top, more like a compact fibre product made to be taken with juice, water, coffee, etc. to be a breakfast subsitute which is what I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I know these are intended to be healthy, so obviously they are not going to be super good, but these were not very good. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and 1/2 cup of pecan pieces. If you are trying to eat really healthy and added some spices, etc. to this, these would be okay I suppose. They are just very dry and would have no flavor as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is a good base muffin recipe that lends itself to a varitey of additions. I chose to add some walnuts and dried cranberries which added great texture as well as flavor. I also added a little brown sugar oatmeal streusel on the top. I think these are best warmed with a little butter and a cup of tea. Will be trying again with some added cinnamon and diced apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Loved these!! Added cinnamon for a fall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Used Whole milk for less fat and they still came out great! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Way better than expected, thanks to tips from other reviewers! Followed recipe except for not soaking the oats that long (maybe 20 min?) and also added: 2 tsp cinnamon, 3/4tsp salt, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2tsp pumpkin pie spice. I lined the muffin tins with butter, filled about 2/3, then put some diced peach in each cup then covered with another spoon of dough. Sprinkled with cinnamon-sugar & after 25 min, they were finished, beautiful and came out of the cups perfectly. The peach surprise in the middle was delicious, reminiscent of peach cobbler, but more guilt free :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
First, half hour cook time? NOOOO. 18 minutes for me on 350. Pretty decent overall for what it is; VERY healthy (90 calories each), and pretty filling if you eat two. Downside, even after gratuitous spices (tons of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger)and such, it's still a bit on the bland side. Even kind of moist and tender. Plus side? Made the house smell AMAZING. Just wish it tasted more how it smelled, the batter was even pretty flavorful. It absolutely has potential, I just have to find the right tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
These muffins are very good. For people that rated it low for flavor, its because these are healthy low calorie muffins. Low fat and sugar. I did use sweetened applesauce and blueberries and non fat milk. I used a mini muffin tin which made them about 16 calories a piece! they were pretty moist so next time I might reduce the applesauce a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
For a low calorie, healthy muffin these taste great. I made a few alterations though. I used 3/4 c. all purpose flour as I didn't have whole wheat, added 1/4 c. wheat germ, and cut back a little on the sugar since I used regular sweetened applesauce. I only soaked the oats for about 45 minutes. They came out wonderfully moist and had just the right amount of sweetness. Like other reviewers I did find that 30 minutes was too long for them to bake, mine were done at around 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutosta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States