Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is just what I was looking for! Taste great and low cal - I may marry one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I heated the buttermilk and oatmeal over low heat on the stove, kinda looked like cooked oatmeal when I added it to the other ingredients. Also added cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, salt. Sprinkled cinnamon-sugar over the top before baking. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is our new, guilt-free breakfast (or snack) muffin that is absolutely delicious! I have DOUBLED the fiber content by GRINDING oats (using a coffee grinder) and used the oat flour to REPLACE the whole wheat flour. No need to buy the expensive oat flour at the store when you can make it yourself! I find it bakes and tastes the same, too! I also halved the sugar to 1/4 cup and increased the applesauce to a full cup. Along with the other reviewers, I added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 tsp cake spice/all spice, 1 tsp salt. In addition, I have added 1 cup of craisins and raisins. Looking to add apples, nuts, berries, bananas, carrots, or zucchini in the future! The variations are endless! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great recipe even though I did do some tweaking. Used one tablespoon apple cider vinegar in the one cup of milk. Added one teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon allspice for a little extra flavor. Also added 1/2 teaspoon salt, one teaspoon vanilla, a small chopped apple and some chopped walnuts. I only soaked the oats about 20 minutes. Wow, these are so delicious. You can do so much with this recipe, almost like the Easy Oatmeal Muffins without the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I guess I got what I expected from these, they are a "healthy" muffin. I don't know that I'd make them again. I soaked the old fashioned rolled oats in the buttermilk for about 3 hours while I did errands. My only change in the recipe was adding some diced dried apple bits along with about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and a little turbinado sugar on the tops. The muffins did not rise at all, they stayed perfectly flat in the muffin tins. Can't blame my baking powder because I opened a brand new one for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I have used this recipe many times. I use 1/4 cup of honey in place of the brown sugar and occasionally, I add raisins, a bit of chopped fresh or dried fruit, or cinnamon, nutmeg and a pinch of cloves. I also add: 1 tsp Vanilla extract to the recipe whenever I make it. The muffins are great every time! My husband and I love them and, when our grown daughter and grandson were visiting, she asked for my recpe--a rare thing! These make GREAT "on-the-run" breakfast muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made these Muffins several days ago and they were great! Even warmed over the next day they tasted wonderful. I'm going to make these again today and add diced apple. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
These had a baking powder taste, that seemed to get stronger after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Good muffins. I didn't want to soak rolled oats so I added instant oats to the dry ingredients and the texture turned out just fine. I also used cinnamon applesauce instead of plain, but felt they could use just a touch more cinnamon too. You can taste the apple but it's not overpowering. The muffins taste much like apple cinnamon oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very good! I used 2/3 cup of applesauce and a little more flour...and I added a teaspoon of allspice...mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States