Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Excellent basic recipe. They are very sweet, I may try another batch with less Brown Sugar. For added flavor, I added pinch of Salt, 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp Nutmeg, 1 tsp Vanilla, 1/2 C dried Cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I thought these were great- although I did add cinnamon and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Great healthy muffin. I took previous advice & added 1 tsp vanilla & 1 tsp cinnamon. I also only let the oatmeal soak for as long as it took me to get the dry ingredients together, as I wanted the oat texture to show up in the muffin. I made 2 batches & added blueberries to one & left 1 plain. My tip... use cooking spray, even if you are using muffin cups. Also, they stick less to the muffin cups if you let them cool over night. I will definitely save this recipe and use it over & over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very tasty! I was concerned that they'd taste too 'healthy,' but they actually have great flavor and a nice texture. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, and only let the oats soak in the buttermilk while I mixed up the other ingredients and preheated the oven (maybe 15 minutes total soak?)--this probably kept more of that 'oaty' texture, which I like! I think 30 minutes for the bake time is a tad too long, though. They were a bit dry and hard on the bottoms at 30 minutes; I made a second time and baked 20 minutes which seemed to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
My son and his father seemed to like these. I found them a little labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this as bread instead of muffins. I didn't find it bland as others did and ate it without butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is a good starting point, but without some alterations, it was a little too bland for my taste. Also, it really needed some oil to keep the muffins from sticking to the wrappers. I used chunky applesauce, and threw in some raisons and cinnamon. After the first batch, when I realized how badly they stuck to the wrapper, I added a little olive oil to remaining batter, and those turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is just what I was looking for! Taste great and low cal - I may marry one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I heated the buttermilk and oatmeal over low heat on the stove, kinda looked like cooked oatmeal when I added it to the other ingredients. Also added cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, salt. Sprinkled cinnamon-sugar over the top before baking. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is our new, guilt-free breakfast (or snack) muffin that is absolutely delicious! I have DOUBLED the fiber content by GRINDING oats (using a coffee grinder) and used the oat flour to REPLACE the whole wheat flour. No need to buy the expensive oat flour at the store when you can make it yourself! I find it bakes and tastes the same, too! I also halved the sugar to 1/4 cup and increased the applesauce to a full cup. Along with the other reviewers, I added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 tsp cake spice/all spice, 1 tsp salt. In addition, I have added 1 cup of craisins and raisins. Looking to add apples, nuts, berries, bananas, carrots, or zucchini in the future! The variations are endless! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States