Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was really good and healthy,, but I didn't wait the two hours.. and it was just fine..and I added 1t apple pie spice..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Added 1t Maple extract, 1/2t salt, 1/2t nutmeg, 1t cinnamon. Substituted white sugar also. Turned out great, done in less than 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I should have added some raisins and chopped nuts as I found these muffins a little bit on the bland side. I found them to be a bit chewy and was expecting them to be airy and light. Since this was a very easy recipe, I will give it another shot and add cinnamon, raisins, and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
An outstanding "healthy" muffin that is surprisingly light in texture. Not too much sugar, made with whole grains which you could amp up by adding a few tablespoons of flax seeds. Unfortunately, I did not have flax seeds but I did add a touch of cinnamon, craisins and walnuts. This is my kind of recipe: easy to make and nutritious. Leslie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These are good as is, but GREAT if you make some modifications. Add 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1 diced apple. Only adds about 10 calories: 122 cal, 2 g fat, 3 g fiber, 11.6g sugar, 2.8g protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I've made so many variations of this I've lost count! Instead of buttermilk I use 2 T plain yogurt mixed with milk to make the amount needed. I add 1 1/2 t vanilla extract and spices to the oatmeal - today I used 1/4 t cardamom, 1/2 t cinnamon and 1/4 t nutmeg. After it soaks about 1 hr I add the rest of my wet ingredients, INCLUDING the brown sugar and 1 T EVOO (I like Goya). I've added chocolate chips and raisins to different batches and made them plain, too. I make these as large muffins so I only get 6, which is perfect for my teenage daughter's breakfast for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairygothmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Excellent basic recipe. They are very sweet, I may try another batch with less Brown Sugar. For added flavor, I added pinch of Salt, 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp Nutmeg, 1 tsp Vanilla, 1/2 C dried Cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I thought these were great- although I did add cinnamon and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Great healthy muffin. I took previous advice & added 1 tsp vanilla & 1 tsp cinnamon. I also only let the oatmeal soak for as long as it took me to get the dry ingredients together, as I wanted the oat texture to show up in the muffin. I made 2 batches & added blueberries to one & left 1 plain. My tip... use cooking spray, even if you are using muffin cups. Also, they stick less to the muffin cups if you let them cool over night. I will definitely save this recipe and use it over & over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very tasty! I was concerned that they'd taste too 'healthy,' but they actually have great flavor and a nice texture. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, and only let the oats soak in the buttermilk while I mixed up the other ingredients and preheated the oven (maybe 15 minutes total soak?)--this probably kept more of that 'oaty' texture, which I like! I think 30 minutes for the bake time is a tad too long, though. They were a bit dry and hard on the bottoms at 30 minutes; I made a second time and baked 20 minutes which seemed to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States