Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These are some of the best low fat muffins I've ever tried - the texture isn't rubbery like some applesauce breads I've made. I added vanilla and cinnamon but it would have been just fine without. I don't like super sweet, so it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I followed the recipe and then based on other reviews added to it. I added 2tsp. cinnamon as well as used cinnamon applesauce, 1/2tsp nutmeg, 2tsp vanilla and threw in 2 diced up apples. The muffins only took 17 min. to bake and even though I basically filled the cups they barely rose out of the pan. With my modifications they were really good, however I'm pretty sure they wouldn't have been so without the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
A "beefy" muffin with goodness through and through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I was looking for a recipe I could use to onhand ingredients that needed using up. This recipe is really good. I didn't soak my oats as long as the recipe called for simply because I was in hurry and I also like the oaty texture. I used cinnamon applesauce and added some vanilla to the buttermilk/oat mixture. I also added some extra cinnamon. I didn't have two eggs so I just added the 1 I had and added an extra 1/2 cup of applesauce. I am not too unhappy with my results. The "skin" is a little tougher and they didn't rise very well. But that was my errors not the recipe. The flavor is good. I think adding some chopped up apple would really bring these muffins to life. I was hoping for more apple flavor, but again that was baker error not recipe. Overall I think this is a great recipe. My children claim they are good and my 4 year old just ate two without butter, so I am pretty confident we will make these again. Ok remade recipe and I realized I misread my measuring spoons on the baking soda so that may have attributed to the tough skin. Recipe was much better after I soaked the oats for the two hours and used two eggs this was great. I also decreased the cook time and don't worry about overfilling the cups as they don't over rise. AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
These were really filling, yummy muffins! To the batter, I added a pinch of cinnamin & nutmeg, a handful of raisins and macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I thought that these were great, but I modified them a tiny bit. The first time I made them they stuck to the paper wrapper, so I use the paper wrapper and then sprayed the wrapper with cooking spray. I used soy milk once and almond milk another time, both batches came out well. I preferred a more 'oaty' texture so on the second batch, I only soaked the oats for an hour, and really enjoyed the results. Lastly, and forgive me 'unhealthing' them a bit, I added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. The kids think they are getting a treat, when they are basically very healthy. The muffins only get around three or four chips each, but it's enough for the kids to enjoy them like cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Healthy but not very tasty. I made them last night with the alterations of adding vanilla and cinnamon. They are not very sweet, the texture resembled a very moist carrot muffin but I guess at a hundred cal a muffin, its a pretty good deal. To add more sweetness I just iced it with Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookier Craver

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kajang, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Requires way too much modification to add flavor to warrant anymore stars than this. Even after adding cinnamon and raisons these were still very bland. A decent base to start with, but flavorless as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tareesa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
these were amazing! they had great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
So good! I made mine with white flour since I don't have wheat flour in the house, but I'll try that as soon as I get some. Also, if you use a 1/4 cup measuring cup as your scoop it makes exactly as many muffins as it says it will. My 3 year old and husband loved these! What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States