Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
These tasted great, but the two hour oatmeal soak took a while. I used quick oats and didn't soak them as long, used egg substitute, and added apple pie spice. My husband even liked them-I didn't tell him they were healthy! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I make a double batch of these twice a week! They are fabulous and I'm absolutely hooked! Initially, I made the mistake of substituting all-purpose flour for the whole wheat flour as it was all I had on hand--the result was a poor texture. Now that I'm actually making the recipe as it is written (haha) the texture is just like any other hearty muffin. I only soak the oatmeal for about an hour and that seems to work just fine. All in all--these muffins are addictively yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
These muffins were so moist and soft, not what you'd expect for something that didn't need butter. This recipe is so versatile and healthy, you could be creative and put anything in it. The recipe sayas that you have to soak the oats for 2 hours, but I only waited one hour and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This was a great recipe, exactly what I had been looking for. It has a great texture and it is high in fiber. It fits perfectly into a cholesterol reducing diet (I substituted 2 whites for the egg). I did add cinnamon and a little cloves to add some spice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Excellent recipe! It is SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
THESE are my new standard recipe muffins. The only changes I make is to add 1 cup of fresh or frozen berries, add 1/2 cup of wheat germ or use 1/2 cup opat and 1/2 cup wheat germ, and cook for 27 minutes @ 375. They are so delicious, moist, and if you don't tell, noone will know how good they are for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POKAHONTAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
These are an excellent way to sneak some nutrition into my family's day! I added 1/2 cup of wheat germ and about 1/2 cup of raisins; I also threw in some nutmeg and cinnamon and increased the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I did have to decrease the baking time by about 5 minutes, and found that these don't rise a huge amount, so you can fill the muffin cups more than 3/4 full. I'm making these again today and, instead of applesauce, I'm using the pulp from fresh pears, apples, and carrots that was left over after making juice in my juicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Excellent Muffin recipe! My kids love it. There is not an overpowering Apple taste. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and ground flax seed to give a little more flavor and health benefit. Very healthy and good tasting. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a great breakfast treat or sweet healthy treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFENY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
My playgroup made these disappear - Moms and kids! I soaked the oats at room temp and left them in the fridge overnight covered with plastic. This made early morning prep much easier. I did add a tsp of cinnamon and a few grinds of nutmeg as suggested and everyone loved them. I used unsweetened applesauce this time and will try a fruit applesauce next time. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
A great nutrious muffin. They are a little bland on their own, but I add lots of cinnamon for taste. I also put in some flaxseed for an extra health kick. Don't use paper muffin holders... too hard to get out. I also use regular milk with a teaspoon of lemon juice instead of buttermilk to make it lower fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States