Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
added: a pinch of salt, 1/4 t cinnamon, 1 apple diced, little extra buttermilk, 1/4 cup wheat bran, and cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup. yummers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
With the changes I made I think these were great. I added cinnamon and vanilla, as well as a bit of extra chunky (sugar-free) applesauce. Also, these only baked about 10 minutes. At 30 minutes they would have been completely burned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Wonderful! A big hit with my husband. Used regular milk with a little bit of vinegar since I didn't have buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made a giant batch of these for my kids and parents and everyone loved them. We added a big bag of frozen blueberries, didn't change the recipe besides that. My kids loved the mini muffin version and would chow down several at a time. I love that there is no guilt and it tastes good! A great anytime snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Awesome muffins! Very moist and fulfilling. I made some slight changes to the recipe. To begin I didn't have 2 hours to soak the oats, so instead I popped the oats and buttermilk in the microwave for about 11/2 minutes covered with saran wrap. This softended the oats perfectly without turning them into complete mush. I also added some cinnamon, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice to make more of a spice muffin. I don't know why, but my muffins only took about 15 minutes to bake completely through. I'm guessing that when I microwaved the oats my muffin mixture was slightly warm which caused them to bake in much less time. I'm very pleased with this recipe and I will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This recipe needs some seasoning - I added 3/4 tsp salt, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp vanilla. I also made some changes based on what i had on hand. I used 1c. whole milk with 1 T white vinegar in place of the buttermilk and all purpose flour in place of the whole wheat flour if you don't have it. I rarely have those ingredients on hand but it worked wonderfully with my substitutions. The all purpose flour lacks the nutrition of the whole wheat but it also makes them light and fluffy. Because my applesauce had no sugar added I added a little extra brown sugar (1 heaping 1/2 c scoop). The were yummy served warm with butter and some honey. Delightful! *Also they only need 20-25 minutes in the oven. Not 30!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Yummy! For such healthy muffins, they're really good. I soaked the oats for about an hour and a half, and the texture was perfect. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, & 1/2 tsp salt, and sprayed the muffin cups with Pam before baking. Next time (and there will definitely be a next time!) I'll bake them on the bottom rack, since the bottoms were a little too moist even though the tops were well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Yum! They're a little on the dense side but nonetheless very delicious. I did not soak the oats for 2 hours, in fact I only soaked them for about 1/5 hour because I boiled my milk, which was sour milk prior to adding the oats. That worked really well and then I didn't have to have the patience to wait 2 hours! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I didn't need to let my oats soak in the buttermilk (actually "soured" nonfat milk) for two hours. I gave it about twenty minutes and we were good to go. I used my own homemade organic spiced applesauce, cut down the sugar to less than 1/4 cup, added vanilla extract and about a cup of organic blueberries for added fiber/fruit. These turned out great and the kids loved them. OMG, these smell SO good while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These turned out amazing! I made 2 changes. I used non fat milk instead of buttermilk because I didn't have any on hand and I also added 2 tsp ground cinnamon. I also only cooked them for 20 minutes total. They are absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XUXU22

Displaying results 71-80 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States