Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These muffins are the easiest, and the best muffins I have ever found. I would recommend these to anyone who likes oatmeal for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Reynolds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bainbridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I liked this muffin, but had to make some modifications as we live at a higher altitude. When made exactly as listed, they came out quite rubbery due to a combo of the lack of fat and our high altitude. Added 1 T of Canola oil, but still a little rubbery on top. Still, quite good, nevertheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Good consistency,but we found them very sweet,too sweet.Next time I'll take half the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pris22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These muffins were so easy to make and healthy but needed a bit more taste so i added some cinnamon. I used quick cooking oats and they just came out sticky and the bottom stuck to the paper cups..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
great muffins--easy to make. made a double batch. added cocoa powder, almond extract and raisins to second half of batter. these were great too. lots of fiber--low in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Delicious! I adapted it to what I had on hand, and it still came out great. Used 2% milk instead of buttermilk and only let it soak while preparing the rest. Used gluten free pancake / baking mix in place of flour. My mix already had some baking powder and baking soda, so I only used half as much of each as this recipe called for. Used a version of raw, Costa Rican sugar, which is course and less sweet, rather than real brown sugar. I added: a 1/4 cup coconut oil + 1/3 cup raisins + 1 tsp cinnamon. We couldn't wait for them to cool before tasting. Will be a good breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I give these 5-stars for what they are...low fat, low-calorie good tasting muffins. When you make a low fat muffin you can always expect a "rubbery" outside, but there's not much you can do about that shy of adding extra butter and/or oil...but then it's not low fat. Besides that, the inside is moist and the muffin has great flavow. I used low fat buttermilk and because I had another recipe I was making today that called for two egg yolks I used two egg whites in this instead of 1 whole egg just so I didn't waste any egg and it came out just fine. I may add some cinnamon and raisins next time for even more flavor. I will be making theses again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
4.5 stars. For a muffin with hardly any fat, amazing. The only gripe I have (and I was expecting it) is that they come out slightly rubbery because of the substitution of applesauce for oil. Still, they were very good. Make them with cinnamon and nutmeg for a slightly jazzed up muffin. Oh, and add a dash of salt. (One last little thing: if you don't want to wake up two hours earlier just to soak the oats, then combine the milk--or 1 Tbsp. vinegar and enough milk to fill one cup--and oats and soak them overnight in the fridge.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I made this today and they turned out well. I did make a few modifications... I didn't have buttermilk so I used skim milk with a dash of apple cider vinegar. I added 1/4 cup of flax seed meal, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla for additional flavor. I also included some slightly rehydrated dried cranberries. These muffins are not excessively sweet or flavorful, so I can't imagine what they would've been without the cinnamon and vanilla. I think this is a good recipe to use as a base for muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
added: a pinch of salt, 1/4 t cinnamon, 1 apple diced, little extra buttermilk, 1/4 cup wheat bran, and cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup. yummers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States