Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
For a low calorie, healthy muffin these taste great. I made a few alterations though. I used 3/4 c. all purpose flour as I didn't have whole wheat, added 1/4 c. wheat germ, and cut back a little on the sugar since I used regular sweetened applesauce. I only soaked the oats for about 45 minutes. They came out wonderfully moist and had just the right amount of sweetness. Like other reviewers I did find that 30 minutes was too long for them to bake, mine were done at around 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutosta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These are great. Not overly sweet. My 3 year-old really likes them, and it makes me feel like she's getting something pretty healthy for breakfast. I add 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla. I also only soak the oats for the time it takes me to get the rest of the stuff prepared and they always come out fine. I've made them a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
We served these at Vacation Bible Camp this week. The kids loved them and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Very good; I added Craisins and pie spice. Couldn't wait two hours so warmed the milk (regular with a little lemon juice added) before adding to the oats, then warmed in microwave for 30 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
these are really good. I didn't have any buttermilk so I added 1/4 cup sour cream to 1% milk. I also added raisins. Very good. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These muffins came out nice and moist, however I felt they lacked a little on flavour. May try them again and add some blueberries. I will also grease the muffin tins rather than use paper liners, as it was difficult to get the muffin out .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Despite adding extra spices per other reviewers (cinnamon, vanilla and blueberries), these muffins were VERY bland. No one liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Nice moisture. Others like the muffin, but I found it a little bland, even after doubling cinnamon and using two different varieties. Good enough that I'll play around with adding more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Really good. I add a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon. The kids love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
a sweeter version of the Easy Oatmeal Muffins. (tastes like sugar.) i cut down on the sugar to about 1/3 cup because i had regular sweet applesauce. not sure the buttermilk made a difference. could probably just use regular milk. only soaked for about 15 mins, and that was plenty in the buttermilk. cooked for 28 mins. delicious, slightly heavier than Easy Oatmeal Muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States