Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Used Whole milk for less fat and they still came out great! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Way better than expected, thanks to tips from other reviewers! Followed recipe except for not soaking the oats that long (maybe 20 min?) and also added: 2 tsp cinnamon, 3/4tsp salt, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2tsp pumpkin pie spice. I lined the muffin tins with butter, filled about 2/3, then put some diced peach in each cup then covered with another spoon of dough. Sprinkled with cinnamon-sugar & after 25 min, they were finished, beautiful and came out of the cups perfectly. The peach surprise in the middle was delicious, reminiscent of peach cobbler, but more guilt free :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
First, half hour cook time? NOOOO. 18 minutes for me on 350. Pretty decent overall for what it is; VERY healthy (90 calories each), and pretty filling if you eat two. Downside, even after gratuitous spices (tons of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger)and such, it's still a bit on the bland side. Even kind of moist and tender. Plus side? Made the house smell AMAZING. Just wish it tasted more how it smelled, the batter was even pretty flavorful. It absolutely has potential, I just have to find the right tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
These muffins are very good. For people that rated it low for flavor, its because these are healthy low calorie muffins. Low fat and sugar. I did use sweetened applesauce and blueberries and non fat milk. I used a mini muffin tin which made them about 16 calories a piece! they were pretty moist so next time I might reduce the applesauce a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
For a low calorie, healthy muffin these taste great. I made a few alterations though. I used 3/4 c. all purpose flour as I didn't have whole wheat, added 1/4 c. wheat germ, and cut back a little on the sugar since I used regular sweetened applesauce. I only soaked the oats for about 45 minutes. They came out wonderfully moist and had just the right amount of sweetness. Like other reviewers I did find that 30 minutes was too long for them to bake, mine were done at around 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutosta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These are great. Not overly sweet. My 3 year-old really likes them, and it makes me feel like she's getting something pretty healthy for breakfast. I add 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla. I also only soak the oats for the time it takes me to get the rest of the stuff prepared and they always come out fine. I've made them a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
We served these at Vacation Bible Camp this week. The kids loved them and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Very good; I added Craisins and pie spice. Couldn't wait two hours so warmed the milk (regular with a little lemon juice added) before adding to the oats, then warmed in microwave for 30 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
these are really good. I didn't have any buttermilk so I added 1/4 cup sour cream to 1% milk. I also added raisins. Very good. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These muffins came out nice and moist, however I felt they lacked a little on flavour. May try them again and add some blueberries. I will also grease the muffin tins rather than use paper liners, as it was difficult to get the muffin out .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States