Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
These were very flling needed a bit more healthfullness so I used sHREDDED CARROTS instead of the one egg and used soymilk with splash of apple cider vinegar to make it vegan. Awesome and easy :) ps if you dont have eggs on hand use applesauce or mashed bannana 1/4 cup per egg needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I'll admit I had my doubts when I saw the batter, BUT these turned out awesome! I only soaked the oats for about 30 minutes in my bath and they were great. They were better when I let them sit overnight. The kids ate them up and they are full of fiber and fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blair, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Broken Bow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Decent basic recipe. Its really easy to make and healthy, but lacks flavour. I added splenda and more cinnamin to give it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Excellent muffins! Very moist and soft and flavorful with the following modifications: Add 2 teaspoons of cinnamon; 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg; 1/2 teaspoon salt; 1 teaspoon vanilla and one diced apple. Healthy and a hit for my whole family. Stays soft for a while but best hot right from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Made these delicious muffins dairy and sugar free! I used 1/2 c. honey instead of brown sugar, perfect sweetness! I used white whole wheat flour(just as healthy and same fiber as whole wheat). I added 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp allspice, and 2 tsps cinnamon to the dry ingredience! Instead of buttermilk I used almond milk with one TBS lemon juice in it(let sit for a couple minutes). The oats and milk sat for only a few minutes and I zapped them in the microwave for 20 secs to make room tep. Mixed all together and baked for only 20 mins. (30 mins must be way too long?) and WALA!!! Note: for company, I might add a ripe mashed banana or more honey for a sweeter taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey
Home Town: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
These muffins turned out great! I made them as minimuffins with paper liners, and my only complaint is that they stuck to the paper too much. Next time I'd definitely use a greased muffin tray without paper liners. I followed the advice left by other reviewers, and added cinnamon, salt and vanilla. Buttermilk isn't sold where I live, so I used milk and 2tbsp of vinegar instead. I also only soaked the oats for about an hour. I'll definitely make these again, though next time I'll probably use less sugar than the recipe says. Still, great muffins and remarkably filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
These are great if you are looking for a healthy muffin. I make them for my 1 year old and he loves them. No, they are not as tasty as some muffin recipes that are really cake masquerading as a breakfast food, but sweet enough for us! They are good with some extra spices, but also good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
these are pretty good. I used fat free milk then soured it and i used white sugar since that's all i had. I only used about 3 or 4 tbs I can't remember. I used cinnamon applesauce since that's what i had and added 1/2tsp of cinnamon. I added some raisins about 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These are some of the best low fat muffins I've ever tried - the texture isn't rubbery like some applesauce breads I've made. I added vanilla and cinnamon but it would have been just fine without. I don't like super sweet, so it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I followed the recipe and then based on other reviews added to it. I added 2tsp. cinnamon as well as used cinnamon applesauce, 1/2tsp nutmeg, 2tsp vanilla and threw in 2 diced up apples. The muffins only took 17 min. to bake and even though I basically filled the cups they barely rose out of the pan. With my modifications they were really good, however I'm pretty sure they wouldn't have been so without the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States