Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
These are great and very low calorie! The first time I made them I used quick oats and soaked them for an hour, which made them completely unnoticeable. We were disappointed that they weren’t more “oaty". So the next time I used old-fashioned oats and only soaked them as long as it took me to get the rest of the ingredients together (about half an hour) which gave them a chewier texture and an “oaty” flavor he really likes. As suggested by other reviewers I added spices- 2 teaspoons cinnamon, 3/4 teaspoon salt, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. The store was out of buttermilk so I used regular with a Tablespoon of vinegar. They turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
If you want non-sugary, soft, non-crumbly and healthy muffins this is the PERFECT recipe. I made these muffins for my 10 month old daughter and very picky 3 year old son and they LOVED them. I used white flour because I was out of wheat, I used organic no sugar added applesauce, I decreased the brown sugar to about 1/4 of a cup packed and then loaded the batter with fresh ripe good quality blueberries. I made mini muffins and each muffin has 3 to 4 big blueberries in it. They were perfect for little ones. If you are having trouble with this recipe try weighing the flour. Once I started weighing my flour to measure, all my recipes come out perfect. Since these muffins have very little fat you have to grease the pan completely or they will stick. Also, if you are looking for full flavor and sweet this is not the recipe for you. You can add spices and more sugar as suggested if you want that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
To up the fiber and cholesterol fighting factor here’s my recipe: 1c multi-grain oats, 1c flour, 1/2c of whole ground flaxseed meal, 1/3c of oat bran, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1 tsp baking powder, ½ tsp baking soda. In separate bowl mix together: 1c applesauce, 1/2c 1% milk, 1/2c brown sugar, 1/4c of canola oil (or extra applesauce, but I used the oil), 1 egg. Add wet ingredients to dry ones. Then to the mix I added almond slivers and 2/3c of dried cranberries. Before baking lightly top each muffin with a mixture of 2/3c oats, 3 tbsp brown sugar, 2 tbsp applesauce, 1 tsp cinnamon. Spray mini-muffin pan, in dark pan bake at 350 degrees for 16-18 minutes. Makes 3 dozen mini-muffins. Each mini is about 85 calories, most are from fiber and grains, but you can cut this number back substantially by using applesauce instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
This muffins are really great. I was really pleased with the way they turned out. I was a bit afraid about it at first because they didn't sound that great. But they are really gerat. I used fat free milk to make them with no fat and my friend in weight watchers loved them!! At 2 points each she was simply in heaven!! Theyhave a really great fiber content too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
A great, healthy recipe! Instead of buttermilk, I used plain yogurt with a little bit of peach yogurt (I can't find buttermilk in any supermarket in Chile, but plain yogurt works as a great substitute). I added a chopped up apple, raisins, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and a tablespoon of honey. I didn't have muffin tins, so I baked it in a 9x9 pan for about 45 min. It came out wonderfully! I can't wait to try this recipe as muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Valdivia, Los Lagos, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
These tasted great, but the two hour oatmeal soak took a while. I used quick oats and didn't soak them as long, used egg substitute, and added apple pie spice. My husband even liked them-I didn't tell him they were healthy! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
These were great! I did make some modifications. I used quick oats and 1% milk with some vingegar to cut down the fat. Also, for ease, I let them soak while I was at work so they were ready to use when I got home. Also, I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 3/4 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. vanilla, and a 1/2 fresh peach diced small. I also only cooked them for 20 minutes. They rose very nicely, and they were light and fluffy. I got great reviews from my friends! Thanks for a great recipe that you can adjust and add different ingredients to create great muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
These muffins were really good. I did add cinnamon and raisens to mine and before baking I did sprinkle a little bit of cinnamon and sugar on top. My co-workers liked them as well as my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
Good recipie. I nice healthy breakfast if you drink it with water. Keeps you full for a while and that is really great if you are on a diet like myself it really is a good recipie. If you know anyone on Weight Watchers give them this recipie they will love you forever!! This is something really great if you are trying to stay healthy or give your kids an alternative to cereal or are trying for a quick breakfast. Go for this recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Not quite sweet enough for my taste, but my boyfriend loves them because they're filling and full of fiber. Interesting texture.. if oatmeal were to take on the form of a muffin, this is how it would taste. I added cinnamon.. next time I'll add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States