Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
This muffins are really great. I was really pleased with the way they turned out. I was a bit afraid about it at first because they didn't sound that great. But they are really gerat. I used fat free milk to make them with no fat and my friend in weight watchers loved them!! At 2 points each she was simply in heaven!! Theyhave a really great fiber content too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
Good recipie. I nice healthy breakfast if you drink it with water. Keeps you full for a while and that is really great if you are on a diet like myself it really is a good recipie. If you know anyone on Weight Watchers give them this recipie they will love you forever!! This is something really great if you are trying to stay healthy or give your kids an alternative to cereal or are trying for a quick breakfast. Go for this recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
These tasted great, but the two hour oatmeal soak took a while. I used quick oats and didn't soak them as long, used egg substitute, and added apple pie spice. My husband even liked them-I didn't tell him they were healthy! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Not quite sweet enough for my taste, but my boyfriend loves them because they're filling and full of fiber. Interesting texture.. if oatmeal were to take on the form of a muffin, this is how it would taste. I added cinnamon.. next time I'll add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
These muffins were really good. I did add cinnamon and raisens to mine and before baking I did sprinkle a little bit of cinnamon and sugar on top. My co-workers liked them as well as my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I make a double batch of these twice a week! They are fabulous and I'm absolutely hooked! Initially, I made the mistake of substituting all-purpose flour for the whole wheat flour as it was all I had on hand--the result was a poor texture. Now that I'm actually making the recipe as it is written (haha) the texture is just like any other hearty muffin. I only soak the oatmeal for about an hour and that seems to work just fine. All in all--these muffins are addictively yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
These muffins turned out pretty good. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour. I also increased the sugar to 2/3 cup--this turned out to be the perfect amount. Try baking these for 25 minutes first, because it took mine less than 30 minutes to bake. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Pretty good! A little bland in taste, even with the addition of another 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of apple pie spice. Still, that's a minor complaint. They taste good -- just not really flavorful. Maybe next time I'll try adding some chopped nuts or dried fruit to liven things up a bit. The texture is outstanding, very moist and delicious, and for so few calories, one of these muffins is quite filling. All in all, this is a healthy recipe that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
These were a little bland, but really moist. I'll use more cinnamon next time, and maybe a few bananas or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
These muffins were so moist and soft, not what you'd expect for something that didn't need butter. This recipe is so versatile and healthy, you could be creative and put anything in it. The recipe sayas that you have to soak the oats for 2 hours, but I only waited one hour and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States