Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Yum! They're a little on the dense side but nonetheless very delicious. I did not soak the oats for 2 hours, in fact I only soaked them for about 1/5 hour because I boiled my milk, which was sour milk prior to adding the oats. That worked really well and then I didn't have to have the patience to wait 2 hours! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I didn't need to let my oats soak in the buttermilk (actually "soured" nonfat milk) for two hours. I gave it about twenty minutes and we were good to go. I used my own homemade organic spiced applesauce, cut down the sugar to less than 1/4 cup, added vanilla extract and about a cup of organic blueberries for added fiber/fruit. These turned out great and the kids loved them. OMG, these smell SO good while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These turned out amazing! I made 2 changes. I used non fat milk instead of buttermilk because I didn't have any on hand and I also added 2 tsp ground cinnamon. I also only cooked them for 20 minutes total. They are absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XUXU22
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Delicious and good for you. What more can you ask for? Made as written (using 1% buttermilk), these turned out moist (but not 'too' moist), flavorful, and rose very nicely. I added a cup of fresh blueberries and mango to the batter, so I also put in a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg as a complement to the fruit. I also topped with a little crumb topping just for fun. Took this recipe to the next level. I will make these often, and look forward to trying other variations with this great, basic recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
These were very flling needed a bit more healthfullness so I used sHREDDED CARROTS instead of the one egg and used soymilk with splash of apple cider vinegar to make it vegan. Awesome and easy :) ps if you dont have eggs on hand use applesauce or mashed bannana 1/4 cup per egg needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I'll admit I had my doubts when I saw the batter, BUT these turned out awesome! I only soaked the oats for about 30 minutes in my bath and they were great. They were better when I let them sit overnight. The kids ate them up and they are full of fiber and fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blair, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Broken Bow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Decent basic recipe. Its really easy to make and healthy, but lacks flavour. I added splenda and more cinnamin to give it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Excellent muffins! Very moist and soft and flavorful with the following modifications: Add 2 teaspoons of cinnamon; 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg; 1/2 teaspoon salt; 1 teaspoon vanilla and one diced apple. Healthy and a hit for my whole family. Stays soft for a while but best hot right from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Made these delicious muffins dairy and sugar free! I used 1/2 c. honey instead of brown sugar, perfect sweetness! I used white whole wheat flour(just as healthy and same fiber as whole wheat). I added 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp allspice, and 2 tsps cinnamon to the dry ingredience! Instead of buttermilk I used almond milk with one TBS lemon juice in it(let sit for a couple minutes). The oats and milk sat for only a few minutes and I zapped them in the microwave for 20 secs to make room tep. Mixed all together and baked for only 20 mins. (30 mins must be way too long?) and WALA!!! Note: for company, I might add a ripe mashed banana or more honey for a sweeter taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey
Home Town: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
These muffins turned out great! I made them as minimuffins with paper liners, and my only complaint is that they stuck to the paper too much. Next time I'd definitely use a greased muffin tray without paper liners. I followed the advice left by other reviewers, and added cinnamon, salt and vanilla. Buttermilk isn't sold where I live, so I used milk and 2tbsp of vinegar instead. I also only soaked the oats for about an hour. I'll definitely make these again, though next time I'll probably use less sugar than the recipe says. Still, great muffins and remarkably filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States