Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This recipe needs some seasoning - I added 3/4 tsp salt, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp vanilla. I also made some changes based on what i had on hand. I used 1c. whole milk with 1 T white vinegar in place of the buttermilk and all purpose flour in place of the whole wheat flour if you don't have it. I rarely have those ingredients on hand but it worked wonderfully with my substitutions. The all purpose flour lacks the nutrition of the whole wheat but it also makes them light and fluffy. Because my applesauce had no sugar added I added a little extra brown sugar (1 heaping 1/2 c scoop). The were yummy served warm with butter and some honey. Delightful! *Also they only need 20-25 minutes in the oven. Not 30!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Yummy! For such healthy muffins, they're really good. I soaked the oats for about an hour and a half, and the texture was perfect. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, & 1/2 tsp salt, and sprayed the muffin cups with Pam before baking. Next time (and there will definitely be a next time!) I'll bake them on the bottom rack, since the bottoms were a little too moist even though the tops were well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Yum! They're a little on the dense side but nonetheless very delicious. I did not soak the oats for 2 hours, in fact I only soaked them for about 1/5 hour because I boiled my milk, which was sour milk prior to adding the oats. That worked really well and then I didn't have to have the patience to wait 2 hours! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I didn't need to let my oats soak in the buttermilk (actually "soured" nonfat milk) for two hours. I gave it about twenty minutes and we were good to go. I used my own homemade organic spiced applesauce, cut down the sugar to less than 1/4 cup, added vanilla extract and about a cup of organic blueberries for added fiber/fruit. These turned out great and the kids loved them. OMG, these smell SO good while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These turned out amazing! I made 2 changes. I used non fat milk instead of buttermilk because I didn't have any on hand and I also added 2 tsp ground cinnamon. I also only cooked them for 20 minutes total. They are absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XUXU22
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Delicious and good for you. What more can you ask for? Made as written (using 1% buttermilk), these turned out moist (but not 'too' moist), flavorful, and rose very nicely. I added a cup of fresh blueberries and mango to the batter, so I also put in a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg as a complement to the fruit. I also topped with a little crumb topping just for fun. Took this recipe to the next level. I will make these often, and look forward to trying other variations with this great, basic recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
These were very flling needed a bit more healthfullness so I used sHREDDED CARROTS instead of the one egg and used soymilk with splash of apple cider vinegar to make it vegan. Awesome and easy :) ps if you dont have eggs on hand use applesauce or mashed bannana 1/4 cup per egg needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I'll admit I had my doubts when I saw the batter, BUT these turned out awesome! I only soaked the oats for about 30 minutes in my bath and they were great. They were better when I let them sit overnight. The kids ate them up and they are full of fiber and fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blair, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Broken Bow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Decent basic recipe. Its really easy to make and healthy, but lacks flavour. I added splenda and more cinnamin to give it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Excellent muffins! Very moist and soft and flavorful with the following modifications: Add 2 teaspoons of cinnamon; 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg; 1/2 teaspoon salt; 1 teaspoon vanilla and one diced apple. Healthy and a hit for my whole family. Stays soft for a while but best hot right from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States