Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These muffins are the easiest, and the best muffins I have ever found. I would recommend these to anyone who likes oatmeal for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Reynolds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bainbridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I liked this muffin, but had to make some modifications as we live at a higher altitude. When made exactly as listed, they came out quite rubbery due to a combo of the lack of fat and our high altitude. Added 1 T of Canola oil, but still a little rubbery on top. Still, quite good, nevertheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Good consistency,but we found them very sweet,too sweet.Next time I'll take half the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pris22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These muffins were so easy to make and healthy but needed a bit more taste so i added some cinnamon. I used quick cooking oats and they just came out sticky and the bottom stuck to the paper cups..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
great muffins--easy to make. made a double batch. added cocoa powder, almond extract and raisins to second half of batter. these were great too. lots of fiber--low in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Delicious! I adapted it to what I had on hand, and it still came out great. Used 2% milk instead of buttermilk and only let it soak while preparing the rest. Used gluten free pancake / baking mix in place of flour. My mix already had some baking powder and baking soda, so I only used half as much of each as this recipe called for. Used a version of raw, Costa Rican sugar, which is course and less sweet, rather than real brown sugar. I added: a 1/4 cup coconut oil + 1/3 cup raisins + 1 tsp cinnamon. We couldn't wait for them to cool before tasting. Will be a good breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I give these 5-stars for what they are...low fat, low-calorie good tasting muffins. When you make a low fat muffin you can always expect a "rubbery" outside, but there's not much you can do about that shy of adding extra butter and/or oil...but then it's not low fat. Besides that, the inside is moist and the muffin has great flavow. I used low fat buttermilk and because I had another recipe I was making today that called for two egg yolks I used two egg whites in this instead of 1 whole egg just so I didn't waste any egg and it came out just fine. I may add some cinnamon and raisins next time for even more flavor. I will be making theses again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
4.5 stars. For a muffin with hardly any fat, amazing. The only gripe I have (and I was expecting it) is that they come out slightly rubbery because of the substitution of applesauce for oil. Still, they were very good. Make them with cinnamon and nutmeg for a slightly jazzed up muffin. Oh, and add a dash of salt. (One last little thing: if you don't want to wake up two hours earlier just to soak the oats, then combine the milk--or 1 Tbsp. vinegar and enough milk to fill one cup--and oats and soak them overnight in the fridge.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I made this today and they turned out well. I did make a few modifications... I didn't have buttermilk so I used skim milk with a dash of apple cider vinegar. I added 1/4 cup of flax seed meal, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla for additional flavor. I also included some slightly rehydrated dried cranberries. These muffins are not excessively sweet or flavorful, so I can't imagine what they would've been without the cinnamon and vanilla. I think this is a good recipe to use as a base for muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
added: a pinch of salt, 1/4 t cinnamon, 1 apple diced, little extra buttermilk, 1/4 cup wheat bran, and cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup. yummers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States