Oat Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
An outstanding "healthy" muffin that is surprisingly light in texture. Not too much sugar, made with whole grains which you could amp up by adding a few tablespoons of flax seeds. Unfortunately, I did not have flax seeds but I did add a touch of cinnamon, craisins and walnuts. This is my kind of recipe: easy to make and nutritious. Leslie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These are good as is, but GREAT if you make some modifications. Add 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1 diced apple. Only adds about 10 calories: 122 cal, 2 g fat, 3 g fiber, 11.6g sugar, 2.8g protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I've made so many variations of this I've lost count! Instead of buttermilk I use 2 T plain yogurt mixed with milk to make the amount needed. I add 1 1/2 t vanilla extract and spices to the oatmeal - today I used 1/4 t cardamom, 1/2 t cinnamon and 1/4 t nutmeg. After it soaks about 1 hr I add the rest of my wet ingredients, INCLUDING the brown sugar and 1 T EVOO (I like Goya). I've added chocolate chips and raisins to different batches and made them plain, too. I make these as large muffins so I only get 6, which is perfect for my teenage daughter's breakfast for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairygothmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Excellent basic recipe. They are very sweet, I may try another batch with less Brown Sugar. For added flavor, I added pinch of Salt, 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp Nutmeg, 1 tsp Vanilla, 1/2 C dried Cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I thought these were great- although I did add cinnamon and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Great healthy muffin. I took previous advice & added 1 tsp vanilla & 1 tsp cinnamon. I also only let the oatmeal soak for as long as it took me to get the dry ingredients together, as I wanted the oat texture to show up in the muffin. I made 2 batches & added blueberries to one & left 1 plain. My tip... use cooking spray, even if you are using muffin cups. Also, they stick less to the muffin cups if you let them cool over night. I will definitely save this recipe and use it over & over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very tasty! I was concerned that they'd taste too 'healthy,' but they actually have great flavor and a nice texture. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, and only let the oats soak in the buttermilk while I mixed up the other ingredients and preheated the oven (maybe 15 minutes total soak?)--this probably kept more of that 'oaty' texture, which I like! I think 30 minutes for the bake time is a tad too long, though. They were a bit dry and hard on the bottoms at 30 minutes; I made a second time and baked 20 minutes which seemed to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
My son and his father seemed to like these. I found them a little labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this as bread instead of muffins. I didn't find it bland as others did and ate it without butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is a good starting point, but without some alterations, it was a little too bland for my taste. Also, it really needed some oil to keep the muffins from sticking to the wrappers. I used chunky applesauce, and threw in some raisons and cinnamon. After the first batch, when I realized how badly they stuck to the wrapper, I added a little olive oil to remaining batter, and those turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States