Oat and Herb Encrusted Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was great! Me and my boyfriend really loved it. I changed the recipe a bit. I substituted sour cream for yogurt and chicken breasts for turkey. I also poured the mustard/milk mixture in the pan with the chicken while it cooked and it came out juicy and flavourful. We had it over brown rice. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was OK. I didn't have sage, so I used Thyme and the oats were good, but I wasn't a fan of the Rosemary. I forgot to use the sauce, and it's possible that would have made this better, but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
this was good. without the sauce it would have probably not have been good at all, so make sure to make it. i used less sage and half breadcrumb as suggested. i will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
we (husband, 7-year-old, and i) didn't really care for this. i tried the suggestions from other reviewers--used half panko and half oatmeal, halved the spices--but the breading still wasn't quite right. i'm not sure what it was, but the flavors just didn't seem to work. we didn't care for the sauce either; we thought it was a little too yogurt-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Good but we thought the herbs were a little overpowering. 1/2 the amount called for would be better with perhaps a little garlic salt. I used 1/2 oats and 1/2 panko bread crumbs, which created a nice texture. I also let the turkey soak in the milk mixture for about 5 mins for added moisture. I didn't have yogurt so used sour cream thinned out with a little milk. The sauce was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was a good basic recipe, but like other reviewers I made modifications. I used about half oatmeal and half Italian bread crumbs and added 1/4 c wheat germ. I also used 1/2 yogurt and 1/2 milk and the mustard. To try to prevent the crumb topping from drying out I also spray the top of it with EVOO. A great healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great! The sauce is fantastic and so very easy. I did do as another reviewer suggested and used half oats half organic italian breadcrumbs. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Unless you like throwing away food I wouldn't make this recipe. I thought this would be a new way to cook turkey healthy. I'm sure it is healthy but it is down right tasteless and dry. In order to eat the turkey we had to scrape off the breading because it was dry and tasteless. The sauce was good. This is the one meal my husband has asked that I never repeat and he couldn't even eat a full cutlet. Needless to say we threw all leftovers out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was tasty. I used ground lean turkey formed into patties because my grocery store was out of turkey breasts. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and these turned out very tasty. Pretty low in fat, but still satisfying. The sauce was yummy too, and I put it on the side for dipping. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This is a nice low fat recipe. I used equal parts bread crumbs and oats and I think this would have been quite bland with just the oats, however the sauce is very yummy and you could serve it on plain turkey and it would be yummy regardless. I think the dry mixture could use some work, but this is a good recipe to use as a start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiffany's Herb Roasted Turkey

See how to roast a moist, tender turkey the mess-free way.

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States