O' Henry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
Delicious. The chocolate peanut butter melts in your mouth while you crunch on the oatmeal bar. Really good and easy to make. I melted the chocolate and peanut butter in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This brings back memories from childhood. It was surprisingly hard to locate a recipe for these. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
These were delicious. I made them when company was coming over and they didn't last long. I found the mixture a little dry at first so I added an extra squeeze or two of corn syrup. They were so nice and chewy I will be making then again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL D. THOMPSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
VERY easy,and wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Oh My!!!! My sister and I used to make these when we were kids and I absolutely loved them. I still have this old recipe and my kids love them too. The things I do differently - I add 2-3 tsp. of vanilla into the crust mixture before baking. You've got to let the crust cool a bit before you pour on the topping. When finished, I cut them into bars and refrigerate them. This reduces the stickiness and makes them cleaner to eat. They taste better cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
this is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This recipe is great! The bars turned out perfect. Totally tasty! I too, sprayed the pan before putting the crust in, and the bars came out of the pan perfectly. I also added a bit of vanilla to the "crust" mixture.Mmmmm. Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I know some have issue with the recipe but I have found it to be very delicious as long as you are careful about a few things. Firstly I agree with adding 2 teaspoons to the crust. I also zap the chocolate/peanut butter in the microwave for easier melting. I would disagree with using a 10x15 crust - I've found the crust is too thick to get that crunchy caramelized flavor except on the edges where for some reason the crust is always thinner. So go with a bigger rimmed pan. I also disagree with cutting right away - the knife gets so sticky with chocolate! Let it cool down then stick in the fridge to harden the top, take out and let it soften a little and then cut. Much easier. I've had many people say how tasty this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I used to make this recipe when I was a kid and when my mom died the recipe was lost, when I found it on here I was so happy. It is just like I used to make and now it is my kids favorite, thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Delicious, quick, and easy treat. I added chopped peanuts to the top. They added a nice bit of saltiness to the sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States