O' Henry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is BRILLIANT if you change a few of the steps. My sister would put the sheet right in the freezer to speed cooling because her boys were so impatient!!! I mail them to our Marine in Iraq and they are devoured! You MUST CHILL base before spreading with the topping. Also, two-thirds cup of melted butter is more than enough, and it should be DARK corn syrup. Line a 9X13 cookie pan with foil, spray with Pam, and after patting down base mix, (GOOD TIP) push the edges back a bit with a fork. It becomes brittle if you bake it too long, so 12 min. max. After chilling, you should be able to lift it out of the cookie sheet and peel the foil right off. Also, we use 1 C peanut butter and a 1-1/2 C chips melted in dbl boiler, then spread on cooled base. Chill again after frosting, and use big, heavy knife to cut into bars. mmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I know some have issue with the recipe but I have found it to be very delicious as long as you are careful about a few things. Firstly I agree with adding 2 teaspoons to the crust. I also zap the chocolate/peanut butter in the microwave for easier melting. I would disagree with using a 10x15 crust - I've found the crust is too thick to get that crunchy caramelized flavor except on the edges where for some reason the crust is always thinner. So go with a bigger rimmed pan. I also disagree with cutting right away - the knife gets so sticky with chocolate! Let it cool down then stick in the fridge to harden the top, take out and let it soften a little and then cut. Much easier. I've had many people say how tasty this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I sure won't make these again. They stuck in the pan so hard that I bent a spatula trying to get them out. Also, the topping was just really sticky unless I kept them in the frig. These just aren't worth the trouble. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Oh My!!!! My sister and I used to make these when we were kids and I absolutely loved them. I still have this old recipe and my kids love them too. The things I do differently - I add 2-3 tsp. of vanilla into the crust mixture before baking. You've got to let the crust cool a bit before you pour on the topping. When finished, I cut them into bars and refrigerate them. This reduces the stickiness and makes them cleaner to eat. They taste better cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This recipe is great! The bars turned out perfect. Totally tasty! I too, sprayed the pan before putting the crust in, and the bars came out of the pan perfectly. I also added a bit of vanilla to the "crust" mixture.Mmmmm. Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Delicious, quick, and easy treat. I added chopped peanuts to the top. They added a nice bit of saltiness to the sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
These were gooey and cutting them while they were warm was not the problem - keeping them together was. They tasted better straight from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have made this exact recipe for 40 years, so I cannot figure out why it's not working for many cooks; it never failed even when I was 12 years old. You MUST heavily grease or butter the pan prior to pressing the crust into it. Also, when I take the crust out of the oven, I use a greased (sprayed with Pam, buttered, whatever is handy) spatula to separate the crust from the sides of the pan: press the end of the spatula between the crust and the pan. This step makes the bars easier to remove from the pan. The topping can be spread on the crust when the crust has cooled enough to be just warm to the touch. The bars should be chilled before cutting and serving, and they should be stored in the fridge. In order to conserve room while storing, after they are cold,I cut them up and layered them in a plastic container (waxed paper between the layers). I was "famous" for these bars at work; everyone was very, very happy when I brought them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kp72

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This brings back memories from childhood. It was surprisingly hard to locate a recipe for these. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I used to make this recipe when I was a kid and when my mom died the recipe was lost, when I found it on here I was so happy. It is just like I used to make and now it is my kids favorite, thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States