O' Henry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
These taste alright, but my "crust" was kinda gooey almost...like a soft granola bar. Might try again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is BRILLIANT if you change a few of the steps. My sister would put the sheet right in the freezer to speed cooling because her boys were so impatient!!! I mail them to our Marine in Iraq and they are devoured! You MUST CHILL base before spreading with the topping. Also, two-thirds cup of melted butter is more than enough, and it should be DARK corn syrup. Line a 9X13 cookie pan with foil, spray with Pam, and after patting down base mix, (GOOD TIP) push the edges back a bit with a fork. It becomes brittle if you bake it too long, so 12 min. max. After chilling, you should be able to lift it out of the cookie sheet and peel the foil right off. Also, we use 1 C peanut butter and a 1-1/2 C chips melted in dbl boiler, then spread on cooled base. Chill again after frosting, and use big, heavy knife to cut into bars. mmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
first time was okay need some work... half the syrup sub. the rest for white sugar and it was perfect. and i know this is not in a o henry bar but i added coconut under my chocolate. emmm. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I don't remember Oh Henry candy bars, so I can't comment on that, but these cookie bars are very good! I used crunchy peanut butter mixed with the chocolate chips. The reminded me of chewy granola bars, coated in chocolate. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
VERY easy,and wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Delicious, quick, and easy treat. I added chopped peanuts to the top. They added a nice bit of saltiness to the sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
These were gooey and cutting them while they were warm was not the problem - keeping them together was. They tasted better straight from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I know some have issue with the recipe but I have found it to be very delicious as long as you are careful about a few things. Firstly I agree with adding 2 teaspoons to the crust. I also zap the chocolate/peanut butter in the microwave for easier melting. I would disagree with using a 10x15 crust - I've found the crust is too thick to get that crunchy caramelized flavor except on the edges where for some reason the crust is always thinner. So go with a bigger rimmed pan. I also disagree with cutting right away - the knife gets so sticky with chocolate! Let it cool down then stick in the fridge to harden the top, take out and let it soften a little and then cut. Much easier. I've had many people say how tasty this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This recipe is great! The bars turned out perfect. Totally tasty! I too, sprayed the pan before putting the crust in, and the bars came out of the pan perfectly. I also added a bit of vanilla to the "crust" mixture.Mmmmm. Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Oh My!!!! My sister and I used to make these when we were kids and I absolutely loved them. I still have this old recipe and my kids love them too. The things I do differently - I add 2-3 tsp. of vanilla into the crust mixture before baking. You've got to let the crust cool a bit before you pour on the topping. When finished, I cut them into bars and refrigerate them. This reduces the stickiness and makes them cleaner to eat. They taste better cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States