O' Henry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Delicious, quick, and easy treat. I added chopped peanuts to the top. They added a nice bit of saltiness to the sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
These were gooey and cutting them while they were warm was not the problem - keeping them together was. They tasted better straight from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I know some have issue with the recipe but I have found it to be very delicious as long as you are careful about a few things. Firstly I agree with adding 2 teaspoons to the crust. I also zap the chocolate/peanut butter in the microwave for easier melting. I would disagree with using a 10x15 crust - I've found the crust is too thick to get that crunchy caramelized flavor except on the edges where for some reason the crust is always thinner. So go with a bigger rimmed pan. I also disagree with cutting right away - the knife gets so sticky with chocolate! Let it cool down then stick in the fridge to harden the top, take out and let it soften a little and then cut. Much easier. I've had many people say how tasty this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This recipe is great! The bars turned out perfect. Totally tasty! I too, sprayed the pan before putting the crust in, and the bars came out of the pan perfectly. I also added a bit of vanilla to the "crust" mixture.Mmmmm. Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Oh My!!!! My sister and I used to make these when we were kids and I absolutely loved them. I still have this old recipe and my kids love them too. The things I do differently - I add 2-3 tsp. of vanilla into the crust mixture before baking. You've got to let the crust cool a bit before you pour on the topping. When finished, I cut them into bars and refrigerate them. This reduces the stickiness and makes them cleaner to eat. They taste better cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
Close - but not quite. Firstly, these are far too gooey. They aren't really "bars" - more like... globs? Secondly - very hard to get out of the pan. PLEASE spray your pan with PAM first - something, anything. The overall TASTE is good - but too sweet. I don't really see the need for corn syrup when I bet some sugar would do just fine - and also keep the gooiness factor down. I would recommend letting the oatmeal mixture cool completely before adding the choc/p-butter topping to it. Close, but no O'Henry Bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I sure won't make these again. They stuck in the pan so hard that I bent a spatula trying to get them out. Also, the topping was just really sticky unless I kept them in the frig. These just aren't worth the trouble. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
These were delicious. I made them when company was coming over and they didn't last long. I found the mixture a little dry at first so I added an extra squeeze or two of corn syrup. They were so nice and chewy I will be making then again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL D. THOMPSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
Delicious. The chocolate peanut butter melts in your mouth while you crunch on the oatmeal bar. Really good and easy to make. I melted the chocolate and peanut butter in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
This recipe is a quick, easy dessert. Kids love to help out on this one. If you don't have corn syrup, try substituting regular gran. sugar. This is a great recipe for those of you who like chocolate and peanut butter (although p/b is opt.) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States