O' Henry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The crust did not set up again. Could be decent if a lot of the suggestions are taken into account.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This brings back memories from childhood. It was surprisingly hard to locate a recipe for these. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I used to make this recipe when I was a kid and when my mom died the recipe was lost, when I found it on here I was so happy. It is just like I used to make and now it is my kids favorite, thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These were pretty good, but not wonderful. I lined my pan with foil and sprayed the foil with Pam, it made for a much easier clean-up. If I make these again, I will reduce the butter to 2/3 cup as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
definitely put in less butter (try 2/3c as someone suggested). bake the full 15 minutes and let cool completely. it was gooey but, besides the overwhelming butteryness, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
These are so gooey and good! You can not over bake them or they will be hard. My husband begs for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
These taste alright, but my "crust" was kinda gooey almost...like a soft granola bar. Might try again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is BRILLIANT if you change a few of the steps. My sister would put the sheet right in the freezer to speed cooling because her boys were so impatient!!! I mail them to our Marine in Iraq and they are devoured! You MUST CHILL base before spreading with the topping. Also, two-thirds cup of melted butter is more than enough, and it should be DARK corn syrup. Line a 9X13 cookie pan with foil, spray with Pam, and after patting down base mix, (GOOD TIP) push the edges back a bit with a fork. It becomes brittle if you bake it too long, so 12 min. max. After chilling, you should be able to lift it out of the cookie sheet and peel the foil right off. Also, we use 1 C peanut butter and a 1-1/2 C chips melted in dbl boiler, then spread on cooled base. Chill again after frosting, and use big, heavy knife to cut into bars. mmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
first time was okay need some work... half the syrup sub. the rest for white sugar and it was perfect. and i know this is not in a o henry bar but i added coconut under my chocolate. emmm. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I don't remember Oh Henry candy bars, so I can't comment on that, but these cookie bars are very good! I used crunchy peanut butter mixed with the chocolate chips. The reminded me of chewy granola bars, coated in chocolate. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States