NY Style Rye Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Love these crunchy, flavourful crackers! Not too dry or too moist and great with cream cheese or on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This recipe is an absolute treasure for any caraway/rye lover. I've never made crackers before and it should go without saying that the final product depends on how thick you roll them and how long you bake them. Mine were all over the board. I rolled the first batch too thick and they turned out dense and heavy with an almost cookie like texture. The thinner I rolled them, the crispier the wafer. The longer I baked them, the crispier the wafer. In all honesty, I actually preferred them a little dense. The caraway flavor stood out more compared to those that were cripsy and made for an irresistible snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are very easy a fun to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Loved these! I tried to roll the dough through my pasta machine, but the dough was just too dry and I couldn't get it to work. I rolled by hand as thin as I could. These were very good - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I just made with 10 total ingredients (I added cracked pepper) what the big-brand bakeries make with twice as many. It is great to know what is in my food, without ingredients I do not understand. This recipe is versatile and can be used as the basis for tons of other types of crackers. Definite imagination-starter of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
35 years ago I ate at a seafood restaurant in San Leon . They served rye crackers made by Lance with the Shrimp salad I ordered. Can't find the crackers in the store & it is only recently I decided to try looking here! Bingo! I used King Arthur's perfect rye flour which is a blend of white rye, med. rye, pumpernickel & their unbleached bread flour. I also added some of their Deli Rye Flavors, I used Mrs. Dash in place of salt, & left out the honey as I'm diabetic. I did use the caraway seeds, the onion & garlic powders. I rolled them as thin as possible & baked them a couple of minutes longer. They came out so flavorful & crisp. I cut them more narrow than in the picture & I came out with about 70 crackers. Thanks to BigShotsMom for a great recipe. I think I would like to try this with some other seasonings too. Like some dill seeds & maybe a pinch of minced dill, or perhaps add a bit of ground flax to the flour and/or a bit of crushed flax seeds on the top., They're better than the Lance crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
PERFECT! We loved the caraway flavor! No changes were needed and the timing was perfect. I made three different sizes to fit the shapes of the cheeses we are using. I did sprinkle them with salt as we enjoy our crackers salty. This was the first time I had ever made crackers and I really enjoyed the new experience. Thank you BigShotsMom for sharing your PERFECT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Great recipe! I like the way the onion, garlic, and caraway combine for flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
As a Rye/caraway junkie these hit the spot. I did make them small, like the Wheat Thins you buy so got about 70 crackers. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This recipe is definitely a keeper! It took me a few tries to get the hang of how to handle the dough but once I started to get the hang of it, they were looking better and better. It's tricky to get them thin but they're better if they are thin. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Broad Tech

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States