Nutty Wild Rice Salad with Kiwifruit and Red Grapes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Wow. :) One of my favorite salad recipes of all times! Have made it on several occasions and everyone has always loved it. It looks beautiful with all the different colors and has a wonderfully refreshing flavor. Can also serve as salad and side dish in one, if you don't have time to prepare both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I use vegetable bullion for the stock as it adds more flavor. This is one of the most versatile wild rice recipes I have made. I used mandarin oranges, green grapes and dried cranberries for a summer picnic. For the salt, I used untoasted chopped cashews. Excellent recipe and one I will use a lot for the different seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made it with long-grain white rice but that's all I could find. It turned out very well - really tangy and surprising. Not your average rice salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Great concept that could be modified to suit tastes! The texture is wonderful! I do agree that there is a tad too much lemon flavor though. I recommend using fresh lemon juice and not bottled, too. Bottled adds a synthetic flavor that detracts from the lovely combination of other flavors. Will be a regular at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Wondful any time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Danielsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Pretty good as I made it. Used 1/2 cup Jasmine rice and 1/4 cup wild rice. Omitted the Kiwi as the ones at the store we terrible and I didn't use ANY chicken stock as I was cooking chicken with it. Doubled the dressing. Was very good. I used some of the rest the next day in a wrap sandwich of turkey, lettuce, and cheese. That was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
wait for the rice to cool before putting in the fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Just not really crazy about this, husband even less so. I did cut the lemon juice back to 2 tbsp, and that was a good decision. I knew there would be leftovers, so I did not add all of the dressing to the salad because of concerns over it becoming mushy. Will finish this off for lunch tomorrow at which time I'll add the rest of the dressing. Served this evening as a side to tilapia with lemon peppercorn sauce and honey glazed carrots. OK, but honestly, don't think I'll be making this one again. UPDATED 7.18.12: I just bumped this up to 4 stars after having this for lunch today. What I found is that we liked this MUCH better "cold" as opposed to warm. Now I will say that I WILL be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Good recipe, went well with the Thanksgiving dinner. I thought it was a little bit bland but my wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
It's something different for a side dish. I think it needed some more dressing, couldn't taste the lemon at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States