Nutty Wild Rice Salad with Kiwifruit and Red Grapes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I use vegetable bullion for the stock as it adds more flavor. This is one of the most versatile wild rice recipes I have made. I used mandarin oranges, green grapes and dried cranberries for a summer picnic. For the salt, I used untoasted chopped cashews. Excellent recipe and one I will use a lot for the different seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Wow. :) One of my favorite salad recipes of all times! Have made it on several occasions and everyone has always loved it. It looks beautiful with all the different colors and has a wonderfully refreshing flavor. Can also serve as salad and side dish in one, if you don't have time to prepare both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this salad exactly to the recipe. It was great until the dressing was added. I would make this salad again but the lemon was way to strong. Three people tasted the salad before the dressing and after. No one really like it after the dressing was added the lemon made it too sour. I would use orange juice instead of lemon or less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Pretty good as I made it. Used 1/2 cup Jasmine rice and 1/4 cup wild rice. Omitted the Kiwi as the ones at the store we terrible and I didn't use ANY chicken stock as I was cooking chicken with it. Doubled the dressing. Was very good. I used some of the rest the next day in a wrap sandwich of turkey, lettuce, and cheese. That was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
It's something different for a side dish. I think it needed some more dressing, couldn't taste the lemon at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This has great potential, but was nothing to write home about as is. Little too much lemon in the dressing and it could actually use more rice. Use a strong and nutty wild rice - maybe a red jasmine - to make it more flavorful, and you will be better off as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
wait for the rice to cool before putting in the fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Wondful any time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Danielsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Good recipe, went well with the Thanksgiving dinner. I thought it was a little bit bland but my wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Great concept that could be modified to suit tastes! The texture is wonderful! I do agree that there is a tad too much lemon flavor though. I recommend using fresh lemon juice and not bottled, too. Bottled adds a synthetic flavor that detracts from the lovely combination of other flavors. Will be a regular at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States