Nutty Wild Rice Salad with Kiwifruit and Red Grapes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
We didn't care for this at all. I was trying to use up some wild rice I had in the freezer already cooked. The wild rice was just too ... wild, and didn't go with the fruit. The pecans were good and I might try it again with asparagus, mushrooms, or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeSkiVa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Just not really crazy about this, husband even less so. I did cut the lemon juice back to 2 tbsp, and that was a good decision. I knew there would be leftovers, so I did not add all of the dressing to the salad because of concerns over it becoming mushy. Will finish this off for lunch tomorrow at which time I'll add the rest of the dressing. Served this evening as a side to tilapia with lemon peppercorn sauce and honey glazed carrots. OK, but honestly, don't think I'll be making this one again. UPDATED 7.18.12: I just bumped this up to 4 stars after having this for lunch today. What I found is that we liked this MUCH better "cold" as opposed to warm. Now I will say that I WILL be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was disappointing. The only thing I did differently was cook the wild rice in water, not broth like the recipe instructed. I didnt think it would make that much of a difference. I wont be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made it with long-grain white rice but that's all I could find. It turned out very well - really tangy and surprising. Not your average rice salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Maurer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Great concept that could be modified to suit tastes! The texture is wonderful! I do agree that there is a tad too much lemon flavor though. I recommend using fresh lemon juice and not bottled, too. Bottled adds a synthetic flavor that detracts from the lovely combination of other flavors. Will be a regular at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This has great potential, but was nothing to write home about as is. Little too much lemon in the dressing and it could actually use more rice. Use a strong and nutty wild rice - maybe a red jasmine - to make it more flavorful, and you will be better off as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I thought this looked good, and the basic recipe was okay. But it was pretty bland, at least for my family's taste. I added some ginger, paprika, and lemon juice. Even then, it wasn't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
wait for the rice to cool before putting in the fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this salad exactly to the recipe. It was great until the dressing was added. I would make this salad again but the lemon was way to strong. Three people tasted the salad before the dressing and after. No one really like it after the dressing was added the lemon made it too sour. I would use orange juice instead of lemon or less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Pretty good as I made it. Used 1/2 cup Jasmine rice and 1/4 cup wild rice. Omitted the Kiwi as the ones at the store we terrible and I didn't use ANY chicken stock as I was cooking chicken with it. Doubled the dressing. Was very good. I used some of the rest the next day in a wrap sandwich of turkey, lettuce, and cheese. That was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States