Nutty Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These are so yummy. I made a few minor changes to the basic recipe. I used fresh pumpkin from my garden, exchanged orange juice for the water, and added a bit of ginger and nutmeg for more flavor. I left out the nuts just because of preference, and also cut the sugar down to 1 cup since the juice adds sweetness. And last, I made a crumb topping with a little butter, sugar, flour, and same spices as in the muffins. Yummy! These are so light and fluffy, not greasy like so many other muffins. I will definitely make these again and maybe try apple cider instead of orange juice (in exchange for the water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent, just don't forget to include the sugar when mixing the large bowl of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Really good, moist muffins! I made mini muffins and dipped the tops in a cinnamon/sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti T.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Made these on a whim this morning because I had some pumpkin to use up. I used splenda instead of sugar and pecans as the nuts because it was what I had on hand. I also substituted the cinnamon for pumpkin pie spice. The muffins are very moist. Not very sweet either. Overall, good- my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Delicious quick and easy muffin. I usually won't rate if I've changed the recipe, but this was a very good recipe. I just cut the sugar in 1/2 because I use unrefined sugar and I substituted apple cider for the water. Excellent texture and taste! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I used whole wheat flour, cut the sugar down to a half cup, used half melted butter/half organic applesauce instead of all oil, organic eggs, organic canned pumpkin and I used a teaspoon and a half of SD's homemade pumpkin pie spice. I also increased the baking powder to one full teaspoon. We don't eat walnuts, so I used chopped pecans. Right before baking, I sprinkled just a touch of sugar over the tops of these. These are beautiful looking muffins and puff up GORGEOUSLY. The smell is AMAZING. These are for breakfast tomorrow, so I'll update my review once my family has had a chance to try them. EDITED: They LOVED them. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These muffins were really good. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding almonds rather than cashews or walnuts because that is all I had on hand. They were delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I doubled the recipe and just added an extra cup of pumpkin because another reviewer said when she doubled it didn't taste pumpkin-ee enough. Definitely always go for the fresh, cooked pumpkin. I just bake the slices for an hour and then semi-puree them with my hand beaters cuz I don't have a blender or food processor. It works well. I've never heard of a muffin nut recipe that called for cashews either so I used walnuts for the more traditional taste. I shared the results at work and all the Korean teachers loved them ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Pretty good! It seemed like a lot of sugar so I reduced it to 1/2 cup plus added 1/2 cup of agave and left out the water. I used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup of melted butter just because I was almost out of oil. I liked them and my kids liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These muffins are really tasty! They turned out perfect. I'm allergic to eggs and had to substitute an egg replacer, and they still turned out really well. This recipe should have made more than 12 muffins, but I was too lazy to do 2 batches so I just filled all the muffin cups to the top. It still only took 23 minutes to bake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States