Nutty Pecan Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Terrific recipe - its become our favorite weekend breakfast. I halve the recipe and its a very generous breakfast for 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
These waffles were wonderful! My whole family loved them. Just so you know, each serving is three waffles. I was surprised by how many waffles this recipe made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
These waffles came out very good. I didn't have buttermilk so I used 2% and it still came out fine. I think the batter could use a little more sugar and a pinch of salt to make it perfect; I'll try that next time. I topped them with butter, sliced strawberries in sugar syrup and a tiny bit of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
Wonderful waffles! I added 1/2 tsp vanilla and liked them even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Wonderful recipe. Very good results, light and fluffy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This is a delicious waffle recipe - I followed the advice of some reviewers, and used 1 1/4 cup of flour and reduced the pecan amount to 1/3 cup (that was plenty). I added 1 tbsp of maple syrup to the batter, and as other reviewers suggested stirred the pecans into the batter. I used only 1/4 cup melted margarine (and omitted the oil altogether). Super flavoured waffles, which I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Light and delicious! Normally I wouldn't want the extra step of beating egg whites to stiff peaks, but it is totally worth it! I substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour, and used 1/2 cup melted coconut oil in place of vegetable oil. Made my own buttermilk by adding 2 tbsp. vinegar to the milk. These turned out great and made about 10 round waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
These waffles were easy and delicious. I think next time I will add the nuts to the batter rather than sprinkling on top. The nuts tended to stay in the middle and were not well distributed when done as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I replaced part of the flour with whole wheat flour and would do that again. I replaced all of the oil with applesauce and would do that again too. I did not have pecans (oops) so I made up the nuts section with a combination of sliced almonds and raw oats. We enjoyed these very much! I added a bit of extra sugar and also some vanilla. They still weren't quite sweet enough on their own but with toppings, they're delicious :) The step where I was supposed to whip the egg whites--I forgot to whip them and just folded them in at the end. I don't know how it would have affected them--mine were light & fluffy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
In a rush when I made these, so didn't separate the eggs - just whisked them with the buttermilk. Also followed several reviewers suggestions and added the pecans to the batter. These turned out fluffy and delicious - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States