Nutty Granola II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Excellent! Why did I eat cereal out of a box for so long? I always add 1 T of vanilla, 1 T of cinnamon and 3/4 c sunflower or pumpkin seeds. Then I vary the fruit each time I make it, allowing about 1/2 c for each type until I reach the 3 cups total fruit called for by the recipe. I've used dates, figs, dried mango, peaches, nectarines, apricots & cranberries, golden raisins and unsweetened coconut in addition to regular raisins and dried cherries. For variety, substitute coconut, maple or banana flavoring for the vanilla or maple syrup or agave nectar for the honey. Line your baking pans with parchment paper for super easy clean up, then roll the paper up and store it to use for your next batch. You can cut the fat by subbing applesauce for 1/2 of the oil. I've done this several times and it works fine. Note: if you're looking for a clumpy granola, this is not the one for you. This only clumps up some IF your honey is beginning to solidify. If clumps are your thing, choose a recipe with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Fabulous recipe! I didn't have dried cherries, so I used some extra raisins and broken pieces of sweetened banana chips. I also added some sweetened coconut flakes and a bit of cinnamon. I think 20 minutes total was a bit too long for this recipe - some of the oats were a bit burned. I would reduce the baking time to 15-17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Wonderful recipe. I have made others from this site and for the sugarless recipes this one is the best. It is sweet with out the sugar and is gone in minutes. My family loves it for breakfast,snacks and as an ice cream topper. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This recipe was yummy. I made only half the recipe, and substituted some maple syrup for some of the honey for added flavor, and used craisins, raisins and chopped dates. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I loved this base recipe so I made a few changes to make it my own. I use Olive Oil and I sometimes substitute molasses instead of honey for a really great flavor. I also add 1 tsp. Cinnamon AND 1 tsp. of Cloves or Nutmeg. I also added Vanilla! Ever since I started making this recipe about 2 years ago I think I have only bought about 4 boxes of store cereal. I make this (doubled) EVERY week! I change it up with the different spices and also I'll use Almond Flavoring instead of Vanilla. VERY, VERY GOOD! GREAT base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELA96

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
My favorite, non-sugar recipe. It's a great base - I change the recipe all the time based on what I have in my cupboards. I like to put pistachios (because the green color makes it so pretty!) and quinoa. I have used pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and often use dried blueberries. Change up the flavors by adding vanilla, cinnamon or molasses. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Thought this was just OK. Mine needed some more flavor and it didn't bind together. But I'm not giving up though. Next time I will add more cinnamon, honey and add brown sugar and vanilla. I will also try adding banana like another recipe from this site uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I was trying to duplicate granola I bought at a Farmer's Market, and this is it. Delicious. Easy to make. Perfect breakfast food with a little almond milk added. I used 2 1/4 cups of sliced almonds in place of the walnuts and pecans, though I'm sure it's great with all three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Delicious! I am eating it over vanilla yogurt. Great way to start the day. I halved the recipe. Threw it all together on a cookie sheet covered with foil with a light coating of butter & a sprinkle of brown sugar. I also sprinkled my homemade pumpkin pie spice over it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Love it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States