Nutty Crispy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent cookies, I did used chopped pecans instead of walnuts, plus sugar sprinkle for the tops prior to baking and bake one pan at a time for better results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These are addictive. I halved the recipe and followed it exactly. I was a little worried at first, as the dough is very oily before baking. The final product, though, is crispy outside, chewy inside. I chopped my walnuts very finely. I also made some as drop cookies and others rolled in sugar (colored) as stated in the description. This worked very well without chilling the dough. I used my smallest cookie scoop which holds about a heaping teaspoon. My half batch of dough made 72 cookies that baked in 12 minutes. I was expecting 30. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I'd give it more stars if I could. Very nice, tasty cookie. Almost on the delicate side & very crispy. Maybe I made them too thin, but we just loved them. One problem, I had lots of dough, so I thought I'd freeze some to make for later. I took it out this morning to thaw & while trying to shape the cookies, the dough kept coming apart. However, I did get them shaped & baked. Made them a little thicker this time & just as good as the first batch. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was a pretty good cookie! It was a little too crumbly for my liking, but the taste was almost exactly like a store bought sugar cookie. Next time I will probably try frosting or maybe a jam thumbprint to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I used Lemon extract and my cookies sell like no others at school bake sales. They come out light and crispy. I think my kids make up reasons for me to bake cookies for their classes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I was looking for a cookie to use as a base for matcha green tea cookies. These cookies are good, but not quite 'crispy' in the way one generally thinks of cookies as being crispy. They came out a bit sandy for me, as some other reviewers have mentioned. Relatively easy to put together and I got 48 cookies halving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Very tasty with a nice dry crumb. I used almonds instead of walnuts because that's all I had in the cupboard. Next time I want to try it with pecans. I took a few and dipped half in melted chocolate. They disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
For a simple sugar cookie recipe, this did the trick. However, for my tastes, I wanted a little more so I made the "Cinnamon Bun Icing" recipe from this site and spread it on top of the cooled sugar cookies. Then I chopped up one hersheys milk chocolate bar in my processer and sprinkled a generous portion on top of the icing. My husband who doesnt even like cheesecake (which is what the icing tastes like) gobbled them up. When I brought these to a baby shower, everyone raved! By adding these tips, these cookies were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
crisyp, crunchy, like a pecan sandy at the grocery store, absolutely the best cookie! I will make these again and again. I put them on my holiday trays that I take to my neighbors, they called me for the recipe. Imagine their surprise when I told them I found it on the internet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I found these to be very bland. If I make these again, I would make them with a thumbprint of jam in the middle to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States