Nutty Coconut Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is excellent as is. I live where White Fish is easily obtainable fresh. Like near White Fish Point near Brimley, Michigan in the beautiful Upper Penninsula. I only have one extra comment on a comment. PLEASE DO NOT COOK AT HIGHER HEAT as one suggested. Fish do not need to be cooked at such high heat....an even 350*to 375* is perfect. when fish is done, the coating turns brown, even in oil. You do not want to over cook the outer, before the inner is done, or that "fishy" taste will come through. be sure to skin it and remove the grey fat layer and blood line from it. that is where any bacteria and fishy taste comes from, especially if it has been frozen. take it from a 67 year old White Fish fisherman and connoisseur of fish chef......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Intend to make this as soon as possible, but have to say, this recipe just hollars for a curry sauce to serve with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I love this recipe. I quite often substitute basa fillets for the cod and use almonds or cashews only for the mixed nuts. I also use dijon mustard with a low-fat mayo and it still tastes great. This one is easy to make and tastes wonderful. I cut down on the cayenne pepper (to 1/4 tsp.) because of my children but would love to try it full spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eveeken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Henderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I used catfish with this recipe and served with jasmine rice rice and coconut curry. I followed the directions exactly, and while the catfish came out perfect, I personally felt like the brown mustard was a little overpowering. I had to spoon my curry onto the fish to help mask the strong mustard aroma. It did the trick, and the coconut fish complimented the curry very well, but I don't think I could have eaten it by itself. I also was slightly put off by the texture, the batter was soft coming out of the oven- not crispy. Of course I should have known better considering that this was oven baked and not fried. I try to avoid frying at all costs, but sometimes certain foods are just best that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I used haddock to make this. It is definitely a very interesting recipe! The flavour of the crust was incredible. Assuming the coconut would be sweet enough, I didn't add any additional sugar. I also used ground almonds instead of mixed nuts. I wanted my crust to be a nice golden brown, so I pan fried it in a little coconut oil instead of putting it in the oven. My husband and I both liked this quite a bit, but thought there was a little too much mustard flavour. Next time I'll cut that in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This recipe has enough sweet & spicey to it. Great texture from the crunch of the nuts & coconut. Used dover sole fillets. will deffinitely prepare again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri707

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Too much salt and too much mustard. I would cut them both in half and add more coconut to balance the salty/spicy with a little more sweet. I ate it with a mango salsa which went really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I used cornflakes in place of the bread crumbs and as I used sweetened flaked coconut I omitted the sugar, I also dredged my fish in flour before I dipped it in the mayonaisse mixture. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
this was the best fish recipe ever! I didn't change a thing and it was fantastic! thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States