Nutty Coconut Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I highly recommend this! Fish is hard to cook, but this recipe was easy and it came out perfect. I made a few changes to suit my family's taste. I used tilapia. I reversed the quantities on the breadcrumbs and mixed nuts (so there were more nuts and less breadcrumbs); I also added extra coconut. It came out great, absolutely delicious, and the kids loved it! Next time I may try Miracle Whip instead of mayo. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe - this will be a staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I couldn't find whitefish, so I used whiting filets and it worked really well with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I tried this with whitefish, largemouth bass and walleye. It was great but only after reduction of cayenne to a pinch. I also increased the temp to 400 @ 18- 20 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was good, but I was disappointed it was neither as nutty or as coconutty as I had hoped. I would use less bread crumbs in the mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This was a tasty recipe for whitefish. Different, but very good. Didn't have any nuts, so left out. I think I would bake at a higher temp next time to help the breading get a little more crisp. Since I used sweetened coconut, I didn't add the tsp of sugar. Didn't have brown mustard, so used yellow (think it would taste better with brown). A nice, quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This recipe passed with high marks! I keep a small plastic container with the dry mix in the fridge so that it is ready go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This was a very good recipe! I love the crispiness of the coconut and the blend of seasonings! The mayo/mustard mix made the fish ultra moist, which made me unable to stop eating it!! YUM! THanks! I will use this over and over !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I've used this recipe with snow cod several times and altered it a few times according to what I had on hand. I've ommitted the cayenne, used several different types of nuts and even none at all, used different mustards, sweetened coconut and black pepper, etc. Also, instead of baking it, I've pan fried it slowly until it turns crispy and golden. My husband is not a fish fan being from a state that doesn't get it very fresh while I crave seafood. We BOTH love this recipe and usually wish we had made more after it's done. Also, no matter the alterations, it's always tasty although the original is great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Very good recipe. Since the mayo and mustard mixture are used primarily as “glue” for the crust, I used fat free Miracle Whip instead of mayo. No added calories and tastes great. I also recommend using very fresh, moist coconut. I agree with another reviewer to increase temp to 400 degrees. When the fish is done, the crust is lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I substituted Miracle Whip for Mayonnaise, used Zesty French's Deli mustared, used sweetened flake coconut that was 6 months expired, used just a sprinkle of cayenne pepper, used only chopped pecans (all I had on hand), used less sugar and salt than called for in the recipe, and baked it at 400 instead of 375 ('cause fish needs to bake at high heat.) It still tasted great! Whole family enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States