Nutty Coconut Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Wow!!! This one is good enough to impress the most discriminating palate! Definitely one for company. Just the right amount of sweetness from the coconut, with a slight zing from the cayenne. Thanks for a great recipe Missbic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2dans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Great recipe. To make it healthier I substituted Greek yogurt instead of the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delicious! It was so easy to prepare and my husband absolutely loved it. He's still talking about it this morning. This recipe (as is) is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is excellent as is. I live where White Fish is easily obtainable fresh. Like near White Fish Point near Brimley, Michigan in the beautiful Upper Penninsula. I only have one extra comment on a comment. PLEASE DO NOT COOK AT HIGHER HEAT as one suggested. Fish do not need to be cooked at such high heat....an even 350*to 375* is perfect. when fish is done, the coating turns brown, even in oil. You do not want to over cook the outer, before the inner is done, or that "fishy" taste will come through. be sure to skin it and remove the grey fat layer and blood line from it. that is where any bacteria and fishy taste comes from, especially if it has been frozen. take it from a 67 year old White Fish fisherman and connoisseur of fish chef......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Intend to make this as soon as possible, but have to say, this recipe just hollars for a curry sauce to serve with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I love this recipe. I quite often substitute basa fillets for the cod and use almonds or cashews only for the mixed nuts. I also use dijon mustard with a low-fat mayo and it still tastes great. This one is easy to make and tastes wonderful. I cut down on the cayenne pepper (to 1/4 tsp.) because of my children but would love to try it full spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eveeken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Henderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I used catfish with this recipe and served with jasmine rice rice and coconut curry. I followed the directions exactly, and while the catfish came out perfect, I personally felt like the brown mustard was a little overpowering. I had to spoon my curry onto the fish to help mask the strong mustard aroma. It did the trick, and the coconut fish complimented the curry very well, but I don't think I could have eaten it by itself. I also was slightly put off by the texture, the batter was soft coming out of the oven- not crispy. Of course I should have known better considering that this was oven baked and not fried. I try to avoid frying at all costs, but sometimes certain foods are just best that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I used haddock to make this. It is definitely a very interesting recipe! The flavour of the crust was incredible. Assuming the coconut would be sweet enough, I didn't add any additional sugar. I also used ground almonds instead of mixed nuts. I wanted my crust to be a nice golden brown, so I pan fried it in a little coconut oil instead of putting it in the oven. My husband and I both liked this quite a bit, but thought there was a little too much mustard flavour. Next time I'll cut that in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This recipe has enough sweet & spicey to it. Great texture from the crunch of the nuts & coconut. Used dover sole fillets. will deffinitely prepare again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri707

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States