Nutty Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
We have anti-Italian dressing people in the household so I had to nix that part of the recipe, leaving the flavor somewhat bland. I added some chopped jalapenos and cayenne to spice it up and thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sourgurl758

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Looks very pretty, but is a little boring. It's a nice summer side dish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Added pomegranate-infused craisins to this for a slightly sweet element. I added more nuts, walnut and pine, because I love them! I agree that this needed a lot more dressing. Added some other seasonings like seasoned pepper, shallot salt, etc because I felt it needed a bit more kick--but season to taste! People at a gathering loved this and is a nice change from potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Economy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Thank you all for the wonderful reviews, they mean a LOT to me! I first came up with this recipe back in 2004 when my husband was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes. It has evolved over the years, with additions, changes, or whatever my mood is. I now use EVOO and fat-free Italian dressing to equal roughly 1/4 cup (percentage of each is up to your personal tastes) I have tossed in asparagus, sunflower seeds, and completely switched to black beans about 4 years ago. The best thing some groceries have ever come up with for a busy working person are chopped veggies, and I have used my share of diced onions, and peppers from the grocery. I also used the precooked brown rice the last time, worked GREAT! I had an over abundance of cherry tomatoes last year, and halved a big handful and tossed them in. Ditto with extra Mini Pearl (grape tomatoes from Trader Joes), those go in whole. I have been known to toss in diced ham or chicken if the carnivores were descending. Happy cooking, and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
SOOOOOO good!!! I am trying to watch what I eat and this fit the bill, plus it is super tasty. The changes I made were: 1) omitted the mushrooms 2) didn't have a yellow bell pepper, so just chopped up 1 whole green pepper and 1 whole red pepper and used them 3) added in a little bit of garlic salt 4) doubled the evoo and dressing per other reviews 5) used black beans as opposed to kidney beans 6) used sliced almonds (and probably had a bit more than 2 tbs). It's easy to throw together and now I will have lunch on hand for the next few days. THANK YOU for sharing such a delicious & nutrient dense recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Since I doubled this recipe, I added one can of garbanzo beans with the one can of kidney beans. As other reviewers stated, more dressing (approx. 3/4 C. in doubled recipe) was needed to give it flavor and moisture. To add a little more zip, I splashed in some red wine vinegar to taste. I think I would add more almonds next time and either sliced or slivered to get more crunch from them. It is a beautiful combination of colors and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Great idea for a salad that is low in fat and tastes good! I followed it pretty closely but also added some diced tomatoes with chilies to give it some oomph. And garlic (which I add to most non-dessertables). Served the salad in hollowed-out assorted grilled bell peppers, which made for a nice presentation. Don't omit the almonds - the crunch gives this dish great texture. Thanks for a nice summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was awesome! I used more rice (made it in my rice cooker, and added salt, which this dish needed!), and a LOT more veggies: a whole crown of broccoli (cooked in the microwave for 3 minutes with 2 Tbl. water), 1/2 cup green bell pepper, 1/2 cup red bell pepper, 1/2 cup yellow bell pepper, and 1/2 pkg fresh mushrooms. Also, I toasted the almonds to bring out the flavor. Since I added more ingredients, I needed to double the dressing & olive oil, and add a bit more pepper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I've been looking for a rice salad recipe for the longest time! I used to work in a coffee house that sold a sunflower-seed-longrain rice salad that I loved, and this recipe is almost EXACTLY the same! I followed the recipe as stated and added shredded carrot and sliced green onion to it. I didn't have any beans, but the salad was just fine without them - although I will try adding chick peas in the future. I used Kraft Golden Italian dressing, and like other reviewers, added MUCH more than the recommended 2 tbsp...I added over 5 tbsp ;P But it's really up to the individual - if you like more dressing, then this recipe allows you to add more without ruining the combined flavours :) My family like this recipe so much that I had to make ANOTHER batch the next day! And my hubby suggested I make this salad for upcoming family functions :) I will continue making this salad, especially during the summer when I like eating lighter :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie C. Harding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made this for Dinner yesterday and it was very tasty. Used the leftovers for lunch in tortillas. Makes good wraps. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA
Living In: Clute, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States