Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Great recipe and easy to make. Thanks Eleanor. I marked it down one star because I can't imagine an apple recipe without cinnamon, which I added (a couple of teaspoons). I also added fresh ground cloves and doubled the oats as some have suggested. Works well with half Splenda and half brown sugar, too. I've also added a few cranberries for color and taste sometimes. Always to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2000
This is a really good crisp. Granny Smith's worked well for me. I doubled the amount of rolled oats since my boys like that part the best and it was just great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Good. I doubled the oatmeal and used half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Yum! Comforting and so, so good! I used Cortland and Crispin apples 'cause that's what I had on hand, and left the skins on. I followed suggestions and added 1/2 c. more oats, about 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. cloves, used less butter, and added 1/2 bag thawed cranberries. Wow. The sweet/tart combination was just right, not to mention the added health benefits of the nuts, cranberries and less butter (didn't miss it even with the added oats). I'll make this again--thank you, Eleanor, for posting this recipe and to all who made suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Absolutely delicious. I missplaced my own recipe for Apple Crisp so I had to look one up. This is by far the best that I have had!! I doubled the rolled oats because we all LOVE that part and added 1 teaspoon cinnamon. I will use this always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I've tried a couple apple crisp recipes lately and this one is a definate winner. I added a little ground cloves and cinnamon, also added currants and dried cranberries to the crust and it's just delicious! Me and my boyfriend made it for breakfast and by early afternoon, it was gone. I plan to make another this weekend and perhaps try wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSunflwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
After layering the apples I tossed in a half tsp. of cinnamon, a little white sugar, and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. I served it with vanilla ice cream and for someone who claims they usually don't like dessert, my husband ate every drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Delicious apple crisp, especially with Macintosh apples. I added an exta 1/4 C of brown sugar and rolled oats for a little extra topping, and used pecans instead of walnuts. Still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Better than apple pie by far! I shared this recipe with a friend and it is a hit with her too! I used green and red apples and the tartness and sweetness was a great compliment, especially with the spices and oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
A light delicious apple desert which may be used to accompany any meal, even breakfast! For snacks it's delightful. I tried ice cream and cool whip with it, and it is just as good after being in the refrigerator. With the apples, rolled oats and brown sugar it is also quite a healthy treat. Am so glad I discoved this recipe. Pat Childers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States