Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is fantastic, albeit a little too sweet for me. I've made this three times and substituted cinnamon for nutmeg, didn't add the nuts (hubby doesn't like nuts), added extra oats, and substituted 1/2 cup of the brown sugar for 1/4 cup of white sugar and it is awesome. If you eat this with ice cream, you definately don't need the added sugar. My family loves this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very good, I actually decreased the sugar by almost half and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I was concerned about making this the first time because it was to be dessert for company. And of course, no one recommends trying a new recipe when company is coming for dinner! But this one certainly didn't disappoint! Super easy and just delicious. We liked it so much I made it again three days later for different dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe was okay, I have had other apple crisps that I liked more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Walnuts really make this reciepe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
first time trying a crisp with nuts (I used pecan instead of walnuts). My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Cooked for brother in law and his wife. He doesn't eat a lot of desserts- but he took another BIG helping. Guess that is a good recomendation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe is top notch!! The only thing I did differently was add a little more flour and oats. And we dont like nutmeg, so I used Cinnamon instead. It was sooo good that my husband had me make it again the very next day! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I doubled the oats and reduced butter by 2 T. but found mine was wanting for a bit more apples. Wouldn't enjoy a crisp near as much without the nuts. Fought the urge to drizzle the apples with maple syrup, next time for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a wonderful "classic". You can put the nuts in or leave them out according to your taste. Increase the amount of apples if you wish. Also, if you double the topping, you can freeze it for the next time and you will have a really easy crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States