Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I was generous with the fresh lemon juice-maybe 2 1/2 to 3Tbl. 1/8 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp cinnamon.The rest stayed the same. I now call this recipe Gormet Apple Crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe was good though I expected a nuttier flavor. I used walnuts and pecans and even added some directly to the apples but not a very nutty flavor for some reason. I also bought a package of apple crisp and just added additional rolled oats, sugar and nutmeg to save time when making the topping. I also used 2 types of apples, granny smith and red delicious which gave a great varying sweet and sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
turned out great! added cinnamon and a little extra oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
AWESOME recipe! I used Granny Smith apples because I like the tangy flavour. I used pecans instead of walnuts because I'm allergic. That's all I changed! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita KJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I had lost my go to recipe for apple crisp that a friend gave me & thought this one mostly resembled what I remembered about my lost recipe... this one had a good flavor- but seems to have too much butter/ brown sugar or maybe not enough oats & flour. I did double the recipe for a Christmas gathering, so I don't know if that was part of the problem. The topping, for me, spread out a lot & seem to overwhelm the apples. Like I said, an okay flavor, but maybe adding less butter & sugar and a little more oats/ flour would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is fantastic, I added some dried cherries just because I had some but this recipe needs no tweaks at all., It is scrumptous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicora, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I didn't care for this, I don't know what happened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Simple and delicious. The nuts in the topping added an extra layer of taste and texture that we really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Sooo goood!!! Love the taste, its crispy, nutty, yammy, ... I subbed the lemon Juice with 1/4 cup orange juice. Will make it again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I love this! I made the following changes: -just a tiny bit of water -extra bit of flour -extra bit of oats -little less sugar -subbed cinnamon for nutmeg (didn't have nutmeg) -no nuts (didn't have any) -peeled and cubed apples (I like the cubes because they keep their crunch a bit better than thin slices). This is one of my favorite desserts ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States