Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Yum! Made this for a family party and was gone in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! We have lots of pecans that we grow so I used quite a bit more than what it called for and it was wonderful. Lots of flavor without being overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Excellent, easy recipe that got great reviews from the eaters. I did not have walnuts but I hope to add these next time. Also I did sprinkle a little cinnamon over the apples before adding the topping. Just a note, many reviewers said to double the topping which I tried - if you're using a 13x9ish size glass casserole dish the apples really cook down and it was more topping than apple. Next time I will NOT double the topping. Altogether was great served warm with a little vanilla ice cream on top! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I was in a rush so I didn't read any of the reviews. Made the recipe as shown and thought it definitely needed some cinnamon. If I make this again, I will halve the nutmeg and add cinnamon. It was way too "nutmeggy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Everyone enjoyed this very much - I may cut down the sugar next time though. Topping might have been a bit too sweet - still very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Yummy Yummy... I took the advise of some others and doubled the oats, also used whole wheat flour and pecans vs walnuts. Also used 1/2c brown sugar and 1/2c granulated Splenda. So good and so easy to throw together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I merged this recipe with another apple crisp recipe, using 7 cups of apples, 1 cup oats, 1 cup flour and 1 cup brown sugar along with cinnamon, nutmeg and 1 cup nuts. It tasted fabulous and our company loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOULTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I took the advice of the other reviewers and added more apples, 7 cups. I also mixed in a 1/2 pint of organic blueberries with the Corland apples. Other changes i made - I doubled the oats and added 1/4 cup more flour, reduced the nutmed to 1/2 teaspoon and added 1 teaspoon cinnamon. The crumb topping was just the right amount (it wouldn't be enough if i followed this part of the recipe) however, it was way too sweet. Still edible, but you can easily have used 1/2 to 3/4 cup brown sugar. I cut in the butter with a pastry cutter, and set it aside while i prepared the fruit. When i assembled the crisp i first squeezed a handful before gently breaking it up on top of the fruit. This makes a chunkier crumble. The nuts definitely puts this recipe above all others, and the blueberries added another fruit dimension. With the small adjustments, this is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I'm not usually an apple crisp fan, but this was awesome. I think the nuts were a big reason, plus it's not too sweet. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
BEST Crisp and can be used for other fruit! Few changes I use on any fruit; Add cinnamon (mix with the lemon juice and water on fruit), use 1 cup oats, and split the sugar: use 1/2 C. white sugar, 1/2 C. brown sugar. This topping worked great with apples. I also used with peaches, substituting orange juice for water. And BEST SO FAR? 5 cups of Pears and 1 cup blueberries!!!!! Will be making this dessert for my dad's birthday instead of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States