Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Best apple crisp ever, the only one I will make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerymonkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Very good. I used a mix of chopped walnuts and pecans, and it was the best apple crisp I've ever had. The nuts make a huge difference in taste! I was getting rid of really old apples I had picked at the orchard that were not looking so good anymore, and it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Everyone LOVED this dish. It was very easy to make and not something you can really mess up. I was in a rush and totally forgot to add spices and it still came out awesome. The only modification I made was doubling the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great recipe! Easy, accurate and Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving, served with vanilla ice cream. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The flavor of the topping is great - I wondered about it when I saw there was no cinnamon in the recipe, but I didn't even miss it. I used a mixture of Splenda and brown sugar and for me, the topping ended up being too much/too sweet for the amount of apples, so I will simply decrease the sugar next time I make this. The walnuts added a really nice crunch, even though I don't normally like walnuts. Thanks for the recipe; I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
So good!!! Added a couple shakes of corn starch to the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Perfectly tender and sweet apples that are balanced with just the right amount of cinnamon and spics. Great for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was my contribution to Thanksgiving dessert and it was very good. I made the following changes as suggested by other reviewers: used 1 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of the nutmeg, used finely chopped pecans instead of walnuts and doubled the oats. I used a mixture of gala and granny smith apples. In my opinion, it tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a good recipe - in fact it's delicious "as is" but I would add cinnamon. One other thing you could add is a tiny bit of rum or rum flavoring. I've tasted Apple Crisp with rum flavoring and it's just a bit richer. I think the water is needed for five cups. Also I happen to think the ratio of crisp to apples should be a big higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States