Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
YUM! Love the walnuts in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wonderful crisp recipe. I've made this with a variety of apples with and without the skin on and it always comes out great. I've also made this combining frozen blueberries and apples, or blueberries and peaches and it's still yummy. Like others, I double the oats and add cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I also use margarine instead of butter and only add 1/2 cup of sugar. The topping is a little powdery, but it still tastes great even after the little tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Fantastic! Used maybe 2/3 the apples and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This ones a keeper! I doubled the oats and added cinnamon instead of nutmeg! I didn't have any walnuts so i added slivered almonds just before baking yummy !! Thank u for the wonderful recipes and helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wonderful!!! added a little cinnamon - perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was really good. I added some fresh cranberries to it as well and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Huseth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was a very good crisp, similar to ones I've had in restaurants. Personally I found it a bit too sweet (though my father loved it), so next time I will scale back on the sugar a bit. I used gala and granny smiths, 3 of each, and they were very tender after 45 minutes. My only problem was that the top did not seem to brown and just remained a loose powder. I melted 2 tablespoons of butter and drizzled it over the top of the crisp and set it under the broiler for a few minutes. That really helped to make a nice browned crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
5 stars. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Fantastic! I made this last night and this morning it's GONE! I made a few changes. I used Granny Smith and Gala Apples. I like the combination of sweet and tart. Also, the Granny smith don't get as soft as the Gala after 40 minutes in the oven, so it's a nice variety of texture in the apples. I didn't use lemon juice, but lightly coated the apples with sugar and flower before putting the topping on. I used double the oatmeal, and two full cups of coarsely chopped pecans instead of walnuts. The results were absolutely heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacySnook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Great recipe and easy to modify. It is nice to find a baking recipe that you can alter to suit your own cooking style. I always add cinnamon and extra oats but have found it works well with many types of apples and other berries mixed with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States