Nutty Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I used pecans instead of walnuts. The family loved it...they rated it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I got tons of compliments on this recipe. I left out the nuts (as a friend has an allergy.) I also added extra 1/4 c. each of brown sugar and oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orchard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Too sweet...needed more apples and a differently proportioned crisp/crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Read through the other recipes and used 2 cups oats and 1/4 cup flour. I added over a cup of nuts (almonds and pecans) that i chopped coarsely which absolutely MADE this recipe. It was too sweet for my preference so next time i will cut the sugar slightly. It was incredible as a rhubarb crisp! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miso Sushi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Yummy apple crisp recipe and the walnuts made a great addition! I made a few small changes such as adding lemon zest since I love the lemon flavor with the apple. Also, I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Next time I would mix the apples with a little flour to thicken their liquid better when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Very YUMMY!!!! We doubled the topping part of the recipe as some have suggested and used granny smith apples. We served it with vanilla ice cream. We will be making this again, a winner especially during apple harvest season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hsm6kids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Served this to five older men tonight. I'm sure all of them had eaten Apple Crisp many many times. They all were very impressed with this recipe. Two changes were made to the original recipe. I added 2 tsp. of cinnamon and topped with slivered almonds since I didn't have walnuts. The lemon really makes a difference. Almost forgot, at the last minute I discovered that I'd left out the water. Just said "oh well", let's see how it turns out without it. There were comments about how the nutmeg really added something to this dish. This is an inexpensive delicious dessert. I will definitely make it again. Bonus is that it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Really great crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
WOW- This is soooo good!! This has a great buttery taste and a great crunchy texture. I tried the topping from this on an apple pie rather than a traditional crust and it was a hit! I used Empire apples, a traditional pie crust for the bottom and followed the rest of the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVSNOW17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Tastes real good. Just used some frozen apples I had. Made this twice already. The second time I set the oven to 375 and baked for 30 minutes. Turned out good and the walnut were toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States