Nuts and Bolts Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
i use this recipe every christmas!! yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was an excellent starter recipe for me, however, I did tweak it to suit my taste. I used unsalted butter instead of oil, and only used half the recommended amount. I didn't have seasoning salt, so I just used garlic powder, onion powder, celery seed, and some added salt. I also only used pretzel sticks and Shreddies since those are my favourites and I always pick them out first. I will be using my tweaked recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geecko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great recipie! The seasoning is great - suits our families tastes. I did use a little less oil then called for... and think that using butter (as a previous reviewer mentioned) might be something to try! Only thing I omitted was the nuts, as I didn't want any visitors to have to worry about allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
My Mama made this many years ago (in the 50's & 60's) as a treat, usually at christmas time. No pretzel bits at the time but all the rest seems to be how I remember it, thanks for renewing a memory, & also for a very nice recipe....yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Good starter recipe, I made my own adjustments to make it lower in salt and a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was swimming in oil! I had to drain it in a strainer and line the bowl with paper towels to soak up the oil. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and it was still too salty. Maybe 1/2 the oil and salt would work better and be a lot healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I was so excited to find this recipe. My husband has always raved about his grandma's Nuts and Bolts and no on e had the recipe. She was from Northern Wisconsin - it must be a midwestern thing! I skimped a little on the season salt because I was afraid of it being too salty, but he said it was 99% her recipe just needed more salt. I also subbed 1 stick fo melted butter for the oil. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I CAN NOT BELIEVE MY EYES! THIS IS A SLIGHT TAKE OFF OF MY GRANDMOTHER'S FAMOUS (IN TOLEDO, OHIO) RECIPE. I'VE YET TO HAVE HEARD THIS REFERRED TO AS NUTS AND BOLTS EXCEPT IN OUR FAMILY! FABULOUS TASTING, BUT IN THE 50s BUTTER WAS USED INSTEAD OF VEG OIL. THE INGREDIENTS INCLUDED SPANISH PEANUTS (A MUST) CHEERIOS, AND ONION SALT INSTEAD OF SEASONING SALT. THE ENTIRE BATCH WAS BAKED IN A HUGE ROASTER COVERED FOR AN HOUR (STIR EVERY HALF) AND UNCOVERED FOR AN HOUR (STIR EVERY HALF). YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This recipe was too salty for me! It could be nice with a few changes, but it gave me a few ideas, so i think it deserves about 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
this is an OK recipe the one thing to keep in mind is that most schools ar enow "nut free" and this one is not so good for that purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States