Nutmeg Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I was curious. I tried. The submitter said to adjust seasonings to taste, so I made a judgement call. I'm sorry, but a tablespoon of nutmeg would have been ridiculously too much. I sprinkled a pinch over the mushrooms. First off, I did saute the mushrooms in a bit of olive oil & butter, then I used a California Chardonnay to deglaze the pan. With my modifications to the recipe, I would give this recipe 4 stars, as written, I would have given this recipe 1 star, so I split the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I really started considering that this was a bad joke and I fell for it. The nutmeg destroyed the entire dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Thank goodness we had other vegetable sides for Thanksgiving dinner. Waaaay too much nutmeg would have been better. We are pretty adventurous when it comes to trying new recipes, but this was too much even for us. I was thankful that I had already established my mother-in-law cooking credentials.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
We were not very fond of these, perhaps a little too sweet for us even though we reduced the amount of nutmeg to half. Will not be making these again, the leftover mushrooms when drained from the sauce did make good compost though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This was disgusting, I threw the whole lot out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wentworth Falls, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I thought that this was one of the bes mushroom ideas ever! tasted like scoops of nutmeg melting in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I liked the recipe a lot, I've just had better mushroom dishes. I think it would be a lot better if the mushrooms had been marinated in the wine. Not a bad side dish to throw in to the mix of thanksgiving dinner. Fast and pleasing to the eye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oostende, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This dish was pretty awful. I made it on Thanksgiving Day, figuring it seemed very simple to do yet it sounds delicious. - it never made it to the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
I think there is too much nutmeg in this. They tasted bitter. Also, the wine cooking made a really strange smell - almost like detergent - don't know if this is the recipe's fault or mine but I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
I've made this twice. The first time was for Thanksgiving and I followed the recipe as given. The second time was for Easter and I chose to chill the mushroom mixture overnight, drain and bring to room temperature before servng with the ham. Both ways are wonderful. I quarter the mushrooms so they're chunky. Beware: This is for only those who LOVE nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

All about Nutmeg

Learn all about the little brown seed with the big, big flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States