Nutmeg Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This cake is so amazing.....it rates at least a 10! Fresh nutmeg is an absolute must. Contrary to what others think, The icing really does compliment this great cake. Thank you Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Tentative four stars for now; but if this cake is as good as the batter, I'm in trouble. :D I'm not even a nutmeg fan - & I used the both teaspoons. I always halve the amount. This could be a lifechanging recipe. :o I can't remember the last time I followed a recipe as stated... Ten minutes later: Son of a seacook! I didn't follow it. >:l I was thinking of making nutmeg cookies to use up my nutmeg. It called for 1c butter. Guess what I made that has 1c butter instead of half cup. Anyone? :/ Okay, okay, it still baked in 25 mins. It isn't particularly light or intense in nutmeg flavor; but, at the same time, you know it's nutmeg cake. I didn't make the caramel icing. 'Seems it'd "fight" with the nutmeg, if you know what I mean. :) Even with double the butter, it wasn't too moist, but a little too buttery feeling. Yeah, feeling. 'Think this would be a good holiday - like Thanksgiving or Christmas - cake. I may make it then, but probably not until.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
The first time I made this, I followed the diretions exactly. One of the cakes wouldn't come out of the pan, but the cake was delicious (and worth scraping up the crumbs). The second time I made it, I added an additional teaspoon of nutmeg. Once again, one of the cakes stuck. Next time I'll use parchment in addition to greasing the pans. The frosting is very sweet (even though I only used one cup of powdered sugar), but the addition of another tablespoon or so of cream made it spreadable. I used it between the layers and frosted the cake with a cinnamon buttercream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Not a bad cake but it was just ok in my opinion. I added layers of toasted pecans/brown sugar in between with the cream cheese icing and I think that is really what made the cake good. The recipe by itself is just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My review is for the cake only, as I chose to use a different frosting. I made this recipe as cupcakes and what a pleasant surprise it was. This cake far exceeded the expectations I had for it. It is moist, delicately spiced with nutmeg (I used freshly grated), with a substantial yet light crumb. Frosting these with Cinnamon Coffee Frosting, also from this site, was like a match made in heaven. The proof was this: I beckoned Hubs to try a cupcake so that I might get his opinion for my review. I somehow missed that he had already eaten two of them, apparently when I blinked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Ohhh, this was delicious! Made it in honour of Grenada's Independence to take to work for a celebratory brunch. They loved it. Moist with a lovely nutmeg flavour. I didn't make the icing though. Made a simple glace icing to dribble over the top after having baked it in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melhara
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is my first time making and trying nutmeg cake, only because I found a large pack nutmeg in the pantry. I found the cake to be very moist, tender, and delicious. I followed one of the reviews and also made it into cupcakes. I had some difficulty making the icing though, and it turned out quite lumpy with clumps of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
amazingly yummy and easy!! I didn't like the frosting very well (i'm not generally a fan of frosting though) and I though honey was much better on it. Great cake though. I'd definitely choose it over death. :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This cake is simple and delicious! The taste is reminiscent of eggnog, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This cake is really, really wonderful! I ground my own nutmeg (There is SO much more complexity to the flavor than what you get in the pre-ground bottled variety. I purchased whole nutmeg seeds at Penzeys.), and this cake showcased the flavors exquisitely. The cake was very tender and moist. As far as the frosting, I can't say I'm a fan, though. Made per instructions, I did not have enough frosting for the sides of the cake, and the flavor didn't really compliment the cake. Next time (and I WILL make the cake again), I will take the other reviewers' advice and choose perhaps a butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States