Nutburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Made these exactly as written and they are delicious! Reminds me of Nature's Burgers I used to have when I was a kid. These will definitely become a staple for when we are going veggie...or just as a lighter alternative to a regular burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Please clarify 1 1/8 cups of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Michael, I have been trying to find ways to substitute grains for meat and this recipe is perfect. I was concerned that the burgers would give me trouble in the tin foil, so I decided to place my very large cast-iron skillet on my gas grill and use that to cook the burgers. I also thought fresh pita bread would make a good substitute for buns in case the burgers fell apart. With this approach I didn't even worry about making them into perfect burgers; instead, I just dropped clumps of the refrigerated mix onto the very well preheated skillet (with olive oil) and I also had a wood chip smoker box going to give a little mesquite smoked flavor to the burger clumps. To dress the pita wraps, I chopped some fresh tomato and scallions and had wedges of lemon handy to squeeze onto the mix. My wife added fresh spinach as well. This is very healthy! Thanks a million for this recipe. The burgers are so delicious but subtle, so I don't recommend putting too much stuff on them. I also found that this is a very low-salt meal if you use the low-sodium soy sauce. My only caveat is to not overprocess the nuts and seeds too much or you get peanut butter, which is very good, but not easy to remix into the bulgur. Really wonderful. Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I'm going to give this four stars, because this recipe prepared as a burger didn't impress me much, and I would have given it maybe one star, but I used the leftover mix (I didn't want to waste it)as a base for vegetarian wontons and it was FABULOUS. I added some onion, carrots, snowpeas, oyster sauce, ginger and a little flour and it made a wonderful filling. I took them to work and NOT ONE PERSON could tell they were meat free, and they were begging me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
These are great! I think they are some of the best veggie burgers I've had. They can come out kind of dry, so they are good served with lots of mayo and mustard. Also, I refrigerated the mix for a couple of days and it still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
These were so tasty, but I had trouble with them falling apart and being slightly dry. This may have been my fault for overcooking a bit or because I used less cashews and added some almond butter in place as that was all I had. The flavour was great though-I will make again. These seem to freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These burgers were delicious! I didn't have sunflower seeds so substituted some ground chick peas. The flavour was really nice and they formed nice patty shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
These are juicy and delicious. Refrigeration is very important to this recipe, as I found out to my chagrin the second time I made them. This recipe takes flavor additions very well - we have made it with minced jalapenos and onions, and with Cajun seasonings. I like it best served on a bun with lettuce leaves and slices of tomatoes, red onions and avocado, and sauteed mushrooms and Jack cheese melted on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2000
Be sure to dampen hands with cold water before handling mixture to prevent mixture for sticking to hands, very hard to remove from hands. Will add extra soy sauce and spices on next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States