Nut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I have been making nut roll for 20 years or more. I previously used my aunt's recipe. About 6 years ago I came across this recipe and have used it ever since. I do make a few modifications. 1oz of yeast leaves the rolls tasting too yeasty to me so I use 2 tbsp. I weigh the dough and divide it into 6 11-12oz pieces. I roll the dough into a 9x12" rectangle and fill with 1 1/2 cups filling. I add raisins as my family has always s done that. I also prick the tops and sides of rolls with a fork before baking which seems to help with cracking but sometimes they still crack a little. By all means don't be afraid to give them to people even if they are a little cracked. They are delicious and people slice them when serving anyway. I rotate pans half way through baking and don't bake more than two pans at a time. This is the best nut roll recipe I have found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I found this recipe about 8 years ago & have used it every holiday season since. Last year for some reason I made the dough & had to stop. I refrigerated the dough overnight. the next day I was able to finish the task of rolling out the dough-spreading the filling, (I use nuts, apricot, raspberry and poppy seed I make multiple batches.) Anyway the refrigerated dough ended up being the easiest to handle and came out of the oven perfect. Going forward I will definitely use the refrigerated dough to make all of my rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Rozik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn Creneti
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is exactly what I want out of a nut roll! I find that some other nut rolls can be too dry or not have enough filling - these are perfect! Just the right amount of sweetness. I halved the recipe and made 3 rolls and I just added vanilla, but not the cinnamon. I used some of the other reviewer's tips and rolled the dough out to 8x12 rectangles and used about 1 and 1/4 cup of the dough and 1 and 1/2 cup of the filling for each one. Mine were done in about 25 minutes - definitely a good idea to rotate them in the oven half way through baking. The bottoms got a little dark, but I took a grater and got enough of it off that you couldn't even tell! Took them to Thanksgiving dinner and they were the first things to be eaten all up - everyone loved them and some people even asked for the recipe! I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Creneti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Never made a nut roll before but wanted to surprise hubby who always mentions his mother used to make these. Turned out "delicious" per him and they are pretty looking. I followed the recipe pretty closely. There seemed to be a real lot of filling. Perhaps because I formed these like long roll coffee cake instead of individual rolls. Will make again as this was pretty simple and results were great for a first try. Next time I will work on making rolls more uniform or into a design. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I agree w LTISONE. These nut rolls are good and this is the 2nd yr. I've made them, but they do like to crack. The yeast doesn't seem to do any good, either because they don't rise at all so they come out a little smaller than I would like. Would be curious to know what size rectangle she rolls the dough. I think the recipe needs a lot of tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe for nutrolls. I used a different nut filling (cinnamon doesn't do anything for me in nut rolls) and made 1/2 of the rolls with poppy filling. The only change I made to the recipe was I added an extra 1/2 cup of sour cream (not intentionally, I got carried away and put too much in talking while I was making the dough) and I did let them raise for 90 minutes before sliding into the oven. I would note that this makes 6 med rolls - I can't imagine making 7 out of this unless you really like small ones. I think this is one of the nicest doughs I have ever worked with - mixed nicely, rolled easily. just don't roll too thin. this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made this again this year.Couple of adjustments, 3/4 cup white sugar instead of the 1 cup and 2 lbs of walnuts instead of 2 1/2 lbs. For the nut mixture, 1 cup of sugar was plenty. This makes plenty, I plan to send it to my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made these yesterday and they turned out great. I found a way to avoid cracking of the dough I think. I chilled the dough for approxamately 3 hours prior to using it. I also did not brush with the egg before baking. I also rolled mine into multiple small 5X4 inch rolls and make dozens of them. they come out great! I have been making nut rolls for years and this dough is the best I have worked with and has such a good sweet taste. Thanks for sharing. I need to make a new batch already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Fantastic and Easy! This is so easy to make and they are always practically gone as I pull them from the oven! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumz2Busy (Rose)
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Excellent!!! So far I've made them 2 times(for family and very close friends) and have gotten nothing but RAVE reviews. The only problem is they have split in a few places each time. PLEASE let me know what can be done to stop that from happening. I've even reduced the yeast in half the 2nd time...no luck! I'd love to make them and give them to co-workers and neighbors, but can't with the way they look. Help!!! These are too good to give up on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States