Nut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
My first attempt at making nut rolls and they turned out great. Very easy to make and the recipe makes a lot. I made 6 rolls and I think next time I might make 12 small ones to give as gifts. I usually make tons of different kinds of cookies for the holidays, but I think this might be my tradition now. I used pecans instead of walnuts and they turned out very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I've made this several times and it's always a huge hit. This year I modified it somewhat. Filling: Substituted dark brown sugar and pecans. Used 1 Tablespoon cinnamon and 1 Tablespoon vanilla. Dough: Increased sour cream to 1 Cup and added 2 extra egg yolks (reserve 2 whites for the wash). Let dough rest/rise for 30 min in a warm spot. Be sure to roll the dough very thin to about an 8 x 12 inch rectangle. Use 1 Cup of dough and 1 1/2 to 2 cups of filling for each roll. I get 6 rolls this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Yummy! I was looking for my grams recipe and tried this one. This is a sweeter version with a yummy white doough. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I can't say enough how wonderful these turned out to be! I even made a batch--from start to finish-- while my 4 kids napped. That's how easy, and delicous they are. Will definitely be a holiday tradition for our family. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
THANK YOU for this wonderful recipe! This was my first attempt to make nut rolls. They came out GREAT! I did add some brown sugar to the nut mixture, about 3/4 cup. Also,I did have to bake them a little longer than it said to, but I rolled them short (about 10 inches long) so that's probably why. Other than that, I changed nothing. Everyone I gave one to LOVED it! The only thing I would change is to perhaps let them rise a bit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Great! I have been searching for a nut roll recipe for some time and this turned out as good as my family used to make. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
These were delicious, just A LOT of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was great dough to work with. The roll was sweet and firm. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
The filling had a great taste, and I will make this recipe again. Next time I will roll the dough flatter, it was a little dry for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This recipe is fantastic!! I made 20 of them for christmas as part of a gift basket that I gave out and the day after I gave them out I received a ton of calls, telling me how great they were! People love them! I would reccomend this recipe to anyone, and it was easy to do, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States